Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Criminal Defense Blog

False Imprisonment and Minor in Possession of Alcohol in Denver | Man Keeps Female From Going Home

Posted by Unknown | Nov 09, 2015 | 0 Comments

When police are called to your home, the outcome isn't usually positive. In one news story I read, police were called to a home after a man and another female were yelling at each other. When police arrived at the home, one officer heard the female saying “I just want to leave, that's it, let me leave!” The female told police she attempted to walk home when the man put his arms around her and didn't let her leave. He said he was trying to keep her safe and was worried about her getting in trouble for violating curfew. Before the officer confronted the male, he also admitted to consuming beers and smelled of alcohol. The female also admitted to drinking, even though she was underage. The 19-year-old man faces charges of Assault, False Imprisonment – Domestic Violence, and Minor in Possession of Alcohol. For today's blog, we'll focus on the charges of False Imprisonment (with the added DV charge) and Minor in Possession of Alcohol.

Facing charges of False Imprisonment?

Get Help Now!

What is Minor in Possession of Alcohol – MIP in Adams County?

In Adams County, Arapahoe County and across Colorado, it's illegal for someone under the age of 21 to consume or possess alcohol. Since the two individuals were under the age of 21 and consumed alcohol, they would face charges of Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP), C.R.S. 18-13-122. Minor in Possession of Alcohol is a strict liability offense in Colorado.

If you've been charged with Minor in Possession of Alcohol, contact an experienced lawyer to fight on your behalf.

What is False Imprisonment in Douglas County?

The 19-year-old also faces charges of False Imprisonment, C.R.S. 18-3-303, in Douglas and Jefferson County, for confining the girl (by putting his arms around her) without her consent and without proper legal authority. False Imprisonment is normally a class 2 misdemeanor in Colorado, but it's a class 5 felony if:

  1. The person uses force or threat of force to confine or detain the other person; and
  2. The person confines or detains the other person for twelve hours or longer.

Domestic Violence – Sentence Enhancer in Colorado

The news story also says the man faces added Domestic Violence charges with his False Imprisonment charge. In Colorado, the definition of Domestic Violence, C.R.S. 18-6-800.3 is:

“an act or threatened act of violence upon a person with whom the actor is or has been involved in an intimate relationship. Domestic violence also includes any other crime against a person, or against property, including an animal, or any municipal ordinance violation against a person, or against property, including an animal, when used as a method of coercion, control, punishment, intimidation, or revenge directed against a person with whom the actor is or has been involved in an intimate relationship.”

False Imprisonment qualifies as a crime against another person, used as a method of coercion, control, punishment, intimidation, or revenge. I don't know how the girl was related to the man, but if she is his current or ex-girlfriend, current or ex-spouse, or if they are parents of the same child, whether they've been married or have lived together at any time, she would be considered to be or have been in an intimate relationship with the man. That's why the man could face added DV charges with his existing False Imprisonment charge.

Why You Need the Best Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer if Facing Charges

Facing criminal charges of False Imprisonment, Domestic Violence or Minor in Possession of Alcohol anywhere in Colorado is tough. If contacted by police, do not speak with them. Instead of speaking with the police about anything, consult a Denver criminal defense attorney early on in your case. You do not want any restrictions on your freedom.

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one has been charged with False Imprisonment, Minor in Possession of Alcohol, Domestic Violence, or any other crime in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call our experienced criminal defense attorneys at 303-830-0880 for a free consultation. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation

Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net – Salvatore Vuono

About the Author

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu