False Reporting is charged in Englewood and Denver for many different reasons, including providing false identifying information or reporting a crime that didn't actually happen. For one Englewood police officer, her False Reporting charge resulted from a false report she filed into a case. According to the news article, the officer responded to a traffic accident, which a detective was later assigned after one of the passengers died from their injuries. When the detective asked the officer about missing information, the officer claimed she was not able to find any medical personnel to give her that data for the report. Then 10 days later, she filed a report stating that she had spoken to a nurse about each of the five people involved in the crash. Because her stories didn't line up, the officer was charged with False Reporting to Authorities and Abuse of Public Records.
Facing False Reporting charges?Get Help Now!
Douglas County False Reporting Attorney: Definition of False Reporting to Authorities in Arapahoe County
The Arapahoe and Douglas County, Colorado law definition of False Reporting, as it applies to the case above – C.R.S. 18-8-111 – is:
“(1) A person commits false reporting to authorities, if:
(c) He or she makes a report or knowingly causes the transmission of a report to law enforcement authorities pretending to furnish information relating to an offense or other incident within their official concern when he or she knows that he or she has no such information or knows that the information is false;”
As a class 3 misdemeanor, False Reporting is punishable by up to 6 months in the Douglas County Jail and up to $750 in fines.
Jefferson County Abuse of Public Records Lawyer: Definition of Abuse of Public Records in Adams County
The Jefferson and Adams County, Colorado law definition of Abuse of Public Records – C.R.S. 18-8-114(1)(a) – is:
“(1) A person commits a class 1 misdemeanor if:
(a) The person knowingly makes a false entry in or falsely alters any public record;”
Because police reports are public record, by falsifying information on her report, she in essence made a false entry – which meets the elements of this crime. As a class 1 misdemeanor, abuse of Public Records is punishable by 6 to 18 months in the Adams County Jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with False Reporting to Authorities or Abuse of Public Records, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-peter67
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment