Not that long ago, legislation was passed making a fourth charge for Driving Under the Influence a felony in Denver, Douglas, and Arapahoe County. A man is feeling the effects of the felony Driving Under the Influence law after getting charged with his 11th DUI. According to the report, the man had been driving drunk and caused a head-on collision, seriously injuring 2 others in the process. He pled guilty to Vehicular Assault – DUI and was tagged as a habitual criminal, which extends the sentencing ranges. He was sentenced to 24 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections.
Douglas County Felony Driving Under the Influence Lawyer: Definition of DUI in Arapahoe County
The Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado law definition of Driving Under the Influence – C.R.S. 42-4-1301 – is:
“Driving under the influence means driving a motor vehicle or vehicle when a person has consumed alcohol or one or more drugs, or a combination of alcohol and one or more drugs, that affects the person to a degree that the person is substantially incapable, either mentally or physically, or both mentally and physically, to exercise clear judgment, sufficient physical control, or due care in the safe operation of a vehicle.”
Blood alcohol content (BAC) is a vital test when it comes to a felony Driving Under the Influence charge, as the results determine the level of impairment. A BAC of .05 to .079 is charged as Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). A BAC of .08 or higher is charged as DUI. When a person's BAC is .15 or higher, it is considered an excessive BAC, which can affect the timeline in which you are eligible to get your license back.
Felony Driving Under the Influence in Jefferson and Adams County
After 3 or more previous convictions of DUI, DWAI, Vehicular Homicide – DUI or Vehicular Assault – DUI, Driving Under the Influence is a class 4 felony. A class 4 felony is punishable by 2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $500,000 in fines. It also carries a potential sentence of 48-120 hours of community service and specific substance abuse treatment.
Get Help Now
If you or someone you love has been arrested for or charged with felony Driving Under the Influence, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 to schedule a free consultation. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-StockSnap