According to the news, two people tried to vandalize a recently-opened barbershop. Video footage shows a woman breaking a back window of the building and a man trying to light the inside of the building on fire. The man is seen throwing two Molotov cocktails inside the building. He successfully threw the first one inside, but the second one ricocheted and ended up lighting him on fire instead. The man is then seen sprinting to the grass and trying to put the fire out before he and the other woman drove away. Smoke can also be seen coming from the inside of the building. In Denver, Mineral County and across Colorado, both people could face criminal charges of First Degree Arson, C.R.S. 18-4-102.
Facing First Degree Arson charges?Get Help Now!
1st Degree Arson in Arapahoe County and Douglas County: Definition of First Degree Arson
A person commits First Degree Arson in Arapahoe and Douglas County whenever they:“
“knowingly set fire to, burn, cause to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damage or destroy, or cause to be damaged or destroyed, any building or occupied structure of another without his consent.”
Because the man threw the Molotov cocktails into the barbershop, he knowingly set fire to a building without consent. In Arapahoe County Court and all other courts across Colorado, the government has the burden of proof. They must prove all elements of First Degree Arson beyond a reasonable doubt for a conviction.
Adams County First Degree Arson Sentencing: 1st Degree Arson is a Felony
First Degree Arson is a class 3 felony in Adams and Jefferson County, Colorado, which means you can risk spending up to 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections if convicted. However, if convicted of First Degree Arson where an explosive was involved in the arson, you will face sentencing under Mandatory Sentences for Violent Crimes, C.R.S. 18-1.3-406. What this means is that you may instead face between 8 and 24 years of prison, with five years of parole. High fines and restitution based on damages from the 1st Degree Arson are also possible.
Charged with 1st Degree Arson in Jefferson County, Colorado? Call Our Arson Attorneys
If you face charges of First Degree Arson in Jefferson County, Arvada, Lakewood or anywhere else in Colorado, call the best First Degree Arson attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office today. Because the government has the burden of proof in an arson case, our lawyers often find weaknesses in their case to show you've been overcharged or wrongfully accused. In other cases, we may be able to get charges reduced or dropped altogether. In every First Degree Arson case, always involve an experienced lawyer to defend you. Our Arson lawyers offer a free initial consultation to speak with you about your case and our affordable legal services.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one faces charges of First Degree Arson in Colorado, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, contact the best criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – Skitterphoto