Icame across an article this week which I found intriguing. It perfectly illustrates how quickly a crime can go wrong. According to the news, two teenagers robbed a gas station, but ended up stealing only candy. Let's take a look at Robbery, and how you can be charged in Denver, Arapahoe, and Jefferson County.
Teens Steal Candy from a Gas Station
Image Credit: Pixabay – ejaugsburg
According to reports, two teenagers in another state decided to rob a gas station at gunpoint. One boy propped open the door so the cashier couldn't use a remote mechanism to lock them in, while the other lured the attendant out of the bullet-proof cash register enclosure. Then, one of the young men took out a handgun and waved it at the clerk, who fled back into the register area and called the police. The two young men panicked, tried to threaten the clerk through a slot in the enclosure then decided to make a run for it. They grabbed candy and took off, hiding the gun in one of the boys' apartment. Unfortunately for these two young robbers, it was a snowy day. The police were able to follow their footprints all the way back to their apartment, where they found the two young men and their stashed weapon.
Facing Robbery charges?Get Help Now!
What is Robbery in Colorado?
Robbery – C.R.S. 18-4-301, is charged whenever a person uses force to take something of value from another person. The actual law states a person will be charged with Robbery if they:“Knowingly take anything of value from the person or presence of another by the use of force, threats, or intimidation.”
Robbery is a class 4 felony in Douglas, Adams, and El Paso County, which carries a possible prison sentence of up to 6 years, and a fine of up to $500,000. But, by looking at the two candy thieves case, we can see they wouldn't be charged with Robbery. Instead, they would face Aggravated Robbery charges because they used a weapon.
Aggravated Robbery: Charged When a Weapon is Used
Aggravated Robbery – C.R.S. 18-4-302, is charged whenever a deadly weapon is used (or hinted at) during a robbery. The statute lists a few situations in which it is charged:If the robber is armed with a deadly weapon with the intent (if resisted), to kill or injure another person. If the robber knowingly wounds or strikes another person with a deadly weapon, or puts another person in fear of death or bodily injury.
If the robber has a confederate (accomplice) who is carrying a deadly weapon with the intent (if resisted), to kill or injure another person.
If the robber possesses anything which another person could reasonably believe to be a deadly weapon, or if they threaten that they have a deadly weapon on their person.
Aggravated Robbery is a class 3 felony, as opposed to simple Robbery. But, it is also considered to be an extraordinary risk crime, which means it is subject to a longer prison term (up to 16 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections). If a person was wounded or believed they were in fear of bodily injury during the robbery and Aggravated Robbery is charged, it is subject to mandatory prison time.Don't stand alone in the courtroom; work with an experienced lawyer who will fight to protect your future.
Why You Need a Lawyer for Robbery Charges
If you've been charged with Robbery or Aggravated Robbery in Aurora, Lone Tree, or Centennial, it is important that you contact a leading criminal defense lawyer immediately. The law is vague and can be interpreted many different ways. The police and District Attorney could have overcharged you, which is why you need the expertise of an attorney in your case. Don't plead guilty to avoid prison time – instead, fight for your future and hire an affordable lawyer who will work hard to protect your future. Here at the O'Malley Law Office, we fight to win. After more than 25 years in Colorado courtrooms, we know criminal law well.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with Robbery or Aggravated Robbery like the two candy thieves, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment