According to the news, a Grand Junction middle school principal was involved in a hit-and-run crash. He was apparently going nearly 80 miles per hour and using his cell phone when he rear-ended a car. The driver and passenger of the car he rear-ended sustained neck and back injuries as a result of the crash. The principal reportedly pulled over after hitting them, but later turned and sped off. The passenger of the car that was hit managed to record the principal's license plate number. In Grand Junction and Mesa County, Colorado, the principal now faces Hit and Run charges (also known as Leaving the Scene of an Accident charges) as well as other traffic charges.
Charged with Hit and Run?Get Help Now!
Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries – Duties in Adams County, Colorado
Under C.R.S. 42-4-1601, a person can face charges of Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries, or Hit and Run in Adams County if they are involved in an accident that results in injury or death and they do not stop or remain at the scene of the accident. C.R.S. 42-4-1601 states that:
“The driver of any vehicle directly involved in an accident resulting in injury to, serious bodily injury to, or death of any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close to the scene as possible or shall immediately return to the scene of the accident. The driver shall then remain at the scene of the accident until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of section 42-4-1603 (1). Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than necessary.”
Because the principal caused an accident that resulted in injuries and did not remain at the scene of the accident, he would face Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries – Duties or Hit and Run charges, for violating the above statute.
Sentence for Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado
Below are the penalties if you fail to stop or remain at the scene of an accident that results in the death or injury of another person in Douglas, Arapahoe County and across Colorado:Class of Misdemeanor or Felony Injury or Death Involved Jail or Prison Sentence Class 1 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense If the accident resulted in injury to any person 10 days to 1 year in Douglas County Jail Class 4 Felony If the accident resulted in serious bodily injury to any person 2-6 years in Colorado Department of Corrections Class 3 Felony If the accident resulted in the death of any person 4-12 years in prison
The principal also risks getting twelve points added to his driver's license if convicted of Hit and Run / Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries – Duties charges.
Charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident or Hit and Run in Jefferson County? Call the O'Malley Law Office
Whenever you are involved in a car accident in Jefferson County or another part of Colorado, it's always best to remain silent in the presence of police. Anything you say to police will be used against you in court, so staying silent will help your criminal defense attorney better plan your defense. If facing any charges or accusations of Hit and Run, Leaving the Scene of an Accident, or Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries – Duties in Colorado, call our best traffic attorneys right away. Protect your driving rights and your future by speaking with one of our experienced attorneys.
Get Help Now
If you are facing charges of Hit and Run in Colorado, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, contact the best criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – OpenClipart-Vectors