Denver marijuana laws place particularly strict regulations on the amount someone can possess, selling the drug, and cultivation. Criminal charges can result when people ignore or intentionally violate the limitations surrounding marijuana in Colorado. Interestingly, marijuana is still a Schedule I substance, meaning it is much more likely to be abused. Weed offenses still come with damaging consequences and seeking experienced representation is essential when facing allegations of violating Colorado's marijuana laws. We invite you to contact our attorneys today to discuss your unique case.
Unlawful Possession and Use of Marijuana in Denver
When some exceeds the legal quantity of marijuana for personal use, law enforcement is quick to charge. A large determining factor is how much the individual has in their possession. This can mean on your property, in a drawer, in your car, or in your backpack. Below is a helpful breakdown for petty offense and misdemeanor amounts of marijuana in Denver, Cherry Creek, and Lodo:
- >1 ounce, <2 ounces = petty offense,
- between 2 and 6 ounces = class 2 misdemeanor,
- between 6 and 12 ounces = class 1 misdemeanor
When possession amounts exceed 1 pound in Denver, felony possession can result:
- >1 pound = class 6 felony,
- <5 pounds = class 5 felony,
- between 5 – 100 pounds = class 4 felony
Additionally, having more than 3 ounces of marijuana concentrate is also a felony throughout Colorado.
Marijuana Possession Penalties in Denver
Each marijuana possession case is different. As a result, the ramifications of conviction are as well. Possessing more than an ounce for personal use can lead to fines and possible periods of incarceration. Having under 12 ounces can result in:
- up to 18 months in county jail,
- a maximum fine of $5K
However, having pounds of marijuana for personal use is a felony in Colorado. Conviction can result in:
- up to 6 years in DOC,
- fines of $2K – $500K
Denver Drug Crime Attorney
Don't let a marijuana possession / use charge derail your future. Just because you've been charged for violating Denver marijuana laws doesn't mean you're guilty. Perhaps you have a valid prescription from a doctor specifying the amount of marijuana or the drugs were discovered during an illegal search. That said, contact our office today for a free consultation. We also defend many clients facing charges for unlawful sale or cultivation of marijuana in Colorado. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make securing a strategic attorney possible in these uncertain times.
So, if you or someone you know is facing charges related to marijuana possession, use, sale, or cultivation, be smart. Contact the experienced drug crime attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon