Harassment charges in Adams County, Colorado can result when someone intentionally annoys or alarms another using physical contact, obscene gestures, or repeated communication. Many other actions apply to harassment as well, such as following someone in a public place, continuously taunting them, or making obscene or threatening comments toward them online. Acts of harassment or cyber-bullying can also occur between current or former lovers, often resulting in a domestic violence enhancement. Consult an experienced harassment attorney today if you're facing an allegation of this nature in Colorado.
Adams County Harassment Law
Adams County's harassment law prohibits specific behaviors made to harass others. CRS 18-9-111 defines these specific violations in the state of Colorado. You commit harassment in Brighton, Thornton, or Commerce City if intending to harass, annoy, or alarm someone you:
- strike, shove, kick, or make physical contact,
- use obscene gestures or remarks in public,
- follow them in public,
- repeatedly call them,
- taunt them intending to cause a fight,
- or make obscene or threatening comments on the phone or electronically
This creates for many different circumstances in which you could be accused of harassment. With this broad definition, we are sure to hold law enforcement and the prosecutor accountable for proving all elements.
Can You Go to Jail for Harassment in Colorado?
Each harassment case in Colorado is different. Therefore, penalties aren't always the same. Harassment is at minimum a petty offense, potentially resulting in:
- up to 6 months in county jail,
- a maximum fine of $750
However, if the harassment was due to someone's race, color, religion, disability, or sexual orientation, the crime amplifies to a class 1 misdemeanor. This can mean up to 12 months in jail and fines of $1,000 for a conviction.
Thornton Harassment Lawyer
Securing a skilled defense attorney early on has many benefits in cases of harassment. Our criminal lawyers have decades of combined experience successfully fighting these charges and often achieve favorable results. Perhaps you had no intent of annoying or alarming someone, you didn't threaten or touch anyone, or you're being falsely accused. That said, contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. We will look over your unique case and suggest next steps in your defense. With affordable fees and flexible payment plans, our representation is a reality in uncertain times.
If you or someone you know is facing a harassment charge in Colorado, be smart. Contact the capable defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Don't talk to the police - talk to us.
Photo by Luz Fuertes
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment