Harassment is a seriously overcharged crime in Denver, Aurora, and Castle Rock and often has the Domestic Violence sentence enhancer attached. Allegations of yelling / insulting or slight physical contact are usually charged as Harassment. We even had a case where two people were arguing, the boyfriend went outside and the girlfriend followed where they continued the argument. Police were called and because she followed him outside, she was charged with Harassment. Ridiculous, right? An actor was recently found not guilty of his Domestic Violence charges, after the jury determined that he did not do what was alleged. His girlfriend claimed he had pushed her down during a disagreement, which would likely be charged as Harassment in Colorado.
Douglas County Harassment Lawyer: Definition of Harassment – Insults in Arapahoe County
The Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado law definition of Harassment – C.R.S. 18-9-111 – is:
“(1) A person commits harassment if, with intent to harass, annoy, or alarm another person, he or she:
(a) Strikes, shoves, kicks, or otherwise touches a person or subjects him to physical contact; or
(b) In a public place directs obscene language or makes an obscene gesture to or at another person; or
(c) Follows a person in or about a public place; or
(e) Directly or indirectly initiates communication with a person or directs language toward another person, anonymously or otherwise, by telephone, text message, or other interactive electronic medium in a manner intended to harass or threaten bodily injury or property damage, or makes any comment that is obscene; or
(f) Makes a telephone call or causes a telephone to ring repeatedly, whether or not a conversation ensues, with no purpose of legitimate conversation; or
(g) Makes repeated communications at inconvenient hours that invade the privacy of another and interfere in the use and enjoyment of another's home or private residence or other private property; or
(h) Repeatedly insults, taunts, challenges, or makes communications in offensively coarse language to, another in a manner likely to provoke a violent or disorderly response.”
As you can see, there are many different actions that someone can accuse you of to get you charged with Harassment.
Sentence for Harassment – Insults in Adams and Jefferson County
As a class 3 misdemeanor in Jefferson and Adams County, Harassment is punishable by up to 6 months in the Jefferson County Jail and a $750 fine.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with Harassment, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880 to schedule your free consultation. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-RyanMcGuire
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment