Harassment in Littleton, Greenwood Village, and Highlands Ranch often involves acts meant to annoy or alarm another. If someone accuses you of shoving or kicking them, making an obscene gesture towards them, or repeatedly contacting or following them criminal charges can follow. This particular offense can occur face-to-face, from a distance, and electronically. In harassment cases with evidence of discrimination, harsher penalties exist. If you're being accused of harassment in Douglas, Arapahoe, or Jefferson County, it's best not to talk with police and contact a skilled harassment lawyer right away.
Colorado's Harassment Law
Colorado's harassment law prohibits specific behaviors towards others, especially in public or online. CRS 18-9-111 defines the many elements of harassment throughout Englewood, Centennial, and Lakewood:
(1) A person commits harassment if, with intent to harass, annoy, or alarm another person, he or she:
(a) Strikes, shoves, kicks, or otherwise touches a person or subjects him to physical contact; or
(b) In a public place directs obscene language or makes an obscene gesture to or at another person; or
(c) Follows a person in or about a public place; or
(e) Directly or indirectly initiates communication with a person or directs language toward another person, anonymously or otherwise, by telephone, telephone network, data network, text message, instant message, computer, computer network, computer system, or other interactive electronic medium in a manner intended to harass or threaten bodily injury or property damage, or makes any comment, request, suggestion, or proposal by telephone, computer, computer network, computer system, or other interactive electronic medium that is obscene; or
(f) Makes a telephone call or causes a telephone to ring repeatedly, whether or not a conversation ensues, with no purpose of legitimate conversation; or
(g) Makes repeated communications at inconvenient hours that invade the privacy of another and interfere in the use and enjoyment of another's home or private residence or other private property; or
(h) Repeatedly insults, taunts, challenges, or makes communications in offensively coarse language to another in a manner likely to provoke a violent or disorderly response.
How Bad is a Harassment Charge in Littleton?
Harassment in Littleton, Lakewood, and Cherry Hills Village can be a petty offense or class 2 misdemeanor. Punishment for a conviction can lead to:
- up to 6 months in county jail,
- fines of $50 - $750
If, however, the alleged acts of harassment are due to the victim's race, color, religion, ancestry, sexual orientation, or disability, harassment escalates to a class 1 misdemeanor. Defendants in these cases face up to 12 months in county jail and a max fine of $1K.
Experienced Harassment Defense Attorneys
Just because you've been accused of or charged with harassment in Colorado doesn't mean you're guilty. Consulting an experienced harassment lawyer can make a huge difference in your unique case, and potentially lead to a better outcome. Perhaps there wasn't an intent to annoy or alarm, you didn't touch anyone, or the communication wasn't done repeatedly. Nevertheless, contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. Our highly-rated criminal lawyers will carefully analyze your case and outline next steps in your defense. With decades of combined experience representing clients throughout south Denver, Sawyer Legal Group is here for the accused.
Don't talk to the police about harassment charges - talk to us. 303-830-0880
Photo by Keira Burton
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment