Denver Police have intensified patrol around the Central Library in Denver in order to deter the increased drug use that has been occurring at that location. People in the Denver area had reported the issue, including finding needles in the bathroom, to the police in hopes that the situation would be addressed. Along with the increased police presence, the library has added security cameras and begun stocking overdose kits to help those who might be in need. Officers have clocked 219 patrol hours at that location between May 11 and June 16. At least 6 drug violation arrests have been made at the Central Library since the beginning of the year, many of those for Heroin Possession. Problems pf this same type have spread to Douglas County and Castle Rock.
Facing Possession of Heroin charges?Get Help Now!
Adams County Possession of Heroin Attorney: Arapahoe County Legal Specifics for Dope Possession
Heroin is classified as a Schedule I drug, according to C.R.S. 18-18-203, which means that the State of Colorado deems it to have:
- A high potential for abuse
- No current accepted medical use in treatment in the United States; and
- Lacks accepted safety for use under medical supervision.
Under C.R.S. 18-18-403.5 – Unlawful Possession of a Controlled Substance – the Colorado law states
“It is unlawful for a person to knowingly possess a controlled substance.”
So, if the Brighton Police or Adams County Sheriff have any reason to pat you down and you have any amount of Heroin on your person or they find you using Heroin, you can get charged with this possession crime. We find that these charges often result after a pat down or car search for a completely unrelated issue. We even had a client who ended up with a possession charge after being contacted by police for smoking a cigarette in a smoke free area.
Jefferson County Possession of Smack: What is the Punishment for Tar Possession?
Under the drug possession statute, it is a class 4 drug felony to possess any amount of a Schedule I or Schedule II drug. This means that Tar or Heroin possession is punishable by 6 months to one year in the Colorado Department of Corrections, with a one year parole tail. Fines range from $1,000 to $100,000 on this level drug felony.
Get Help Now
If you or someone you love has been charged with Possession of Heroin, Dope, or any other drug, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-PhotoLizM