Leaving the scene of a car accident is a serious offense in Thornton and Commerce City, even when there are no significant injuries. Law enforcement in Adams County expects drivers to remain at the scene of an accident and go through legal requirements. Failure to do so can result in impactful criminal charges. A Colorado man was arrested last week after he allegedly drove a vehicle that collided with a cyclist and chose to leave the scene. The cyclist passed away shortly after the accident. Any situation involving leaving the scene of an accident in Colorado requires representation from a hit and run attorney.
What is Considered a Hit and Run in Adams County?
Hit and runs occur in Thornton, Colorado whenever a driver collides with another vehicle, person, or property and proceeds to leave the scene. Even if there isn't anyone in the vehicle, Adams County drivers have obligations to locate and notify the owner or adequately attach a note. Additionally, drivers must report the accident to local law enforcement and return to the scene if asked. In situations where the other vehicle is occupied, criminal charges can result if drivers fail to remain at the scene, report the accident to police, and provide reasonable assistance to anyone who sustains an injury.
What is the Penalty for a Hit and Run in Adams County?
Consequences of a hit and run in Thornton depend on several different factors. When the other vehicle is occupied and someone suffers injuries, ramifications can become greater. If a person fails to report an accident or provide notice involving an unoccupied vehicle / property, a class 2 misdemeanor applies. Penalties may include 10 – 90 days in county jail and up to $300 in fines. However, when a hit and run involves another occupied vehicle, a class 1 misdemeanor results. Punishments can include up to 12 months in jail and fines of up to $1,000. Finally, hit and run occurrences that result in serious bodily injury or death are felony offenses. 2 – 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines of $2,000 – $750,000 can apply to conviction.
Defense Lawyer for Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries
There is a great deal on the line when someone experiences a fleeing the scene of an accident accusation. Beyond possible incarceration and significant fines, drivers can face 12 points on their driving record and victim restitution. Perhaps you or someone you know were too seriously injured to complete the requirements on the scene after an accident or you didn't realize anyone was injured. Nevertheless, contacting a reputable hit and run attorney is vital to your future. Our criminal defense lawyers have over 40 years of combined experience representing drivers accused of crimes throughout Colorado. Contact our office today for a free consultation where we will analyze your case and suggest productive next steps.
If you or someone you know is facing a hit and run charge, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Lina Kivaka