Intimidating a Witness or Victim, C.R.S. 18-8-704, is committed in Denver, Eagle County and across Colorado if, by use of a threat, act of harassment as defined in section 18-9-111, or act of harm or injury to any person or property directed to or committed upon a witness or victim to any crime, a person he or she believes has been or is to be called or who would have been called to testify as a witness or a victim, a member of the witness' family, a member of the victims' family, a person in close relationship to the witness or victim, a person residing in the same household with the witness or victim, or any person who has reported a crime or who may be called to testify as a witness to or victim of any crime, he or she intentionally attempts to or does:
1.Influence the witness or victim to testify falsely or unlawfully withhold any testimony; or
2.Induce the witness or victim to avoid legal process summoning him to testify; or
3.Induce the witness or victim to absent himself or herself from an official proceeding; or
4.Inflict such harm or injury prior to such testimony or expected testimony.
Basically, you can be charged in Denver with Intimidating a Witness or Victim whenever you threaten a witness or victim in order to get them to lie, to not appear in court, or by threatening or causing them injury before they testify.
Facing Intimidating a Witness or Victim charges?Get Help Now!
Lawyer in Arapahoe County for Intimidating a Witness or Victim: Consequences in Colorado
Intimidating a Witness or Victim is a class 4 felony in Arapahoe County, Jefferson County and every other county in Colorado. A class 4 felony in Colorado is punishable by up to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections. If a weapon is involved in the intimidation of a witness or victim, you can face Aggravated Intimidation of a Witness or Victim charges. Either way, a Department of Corrections prison sentence is possible. Let's look at these charges below.
Aggravated Intimidation of a Witness or Victim in Douglas County, Colorado
Image Credit: Pixabay – OpenClipartVectors
In Castle Rock and Douglas County, Colorado, Aggravated Intimidation of a Witness or Victim is charged whenever a person, during the intimidation of a witness or victim, he:
1.Is armed with a deadly weapon with the intent, if resisted, to kill, maim, or wound the person being intimidated or any other person; or
2.Knowingly wounds the person being intimidated or any other person with a deadly weapon, or by the use of force, threats or intimidation with a deadly weapon knowingly puts the person being intimidated or any other person in reasonable fear of death or bodily injury.
Because a gun, knife or other weapon is involved in the intimidation of a witness or victim, Aggravated Intimidation of a Witness or Victim is a class 3 felony across Colorado. This is punishable by up to 12 years in DOC. If facing charges or accusations of Intimidating a Witness or Victim or Aggravated Intimidation of a Witness or Victim anywhere in Colorado, contact one of the aggressive criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office to defend you immediately. In many cases involving witness or victim crimes, you can be overcharged and face elevated consequences as a result. You need an experienced attorney who can fight against these charges and obtain a fair outcome in your criminal case. Call our office today.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with a crime involving a witness or victim anywhere in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the top criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – ArtsyBee
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment