Assault in Jefferson County, Colorado includes situations where someone knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally causes bodily injury to another. There are three different degrees of assault that have to do with intent, presence of a deadly weapon, magnitude of injury, and if the victim was an officer on duty. Late last week, local police were looking for a suspect who allegedly assaulted two people with a blunt object near a college campus. Consulting an experienced Jefferson County assault lawyer is especially essential for those facing charges in Lakewood, Golden, or Wheat Ridge.
What is Considered Assault in Jeffco?
There are many different actions that can be considered assault in Lakewood. When physical altercations include pushing, shoving, slapping, or hitting that results in bodily injury, assault charges can follow. Actions like these are typically misdemeanor 3rd degree assault. However, when someone sustains injuries like scaring, broken / fractured bones, or even broken teeth, felony assault charges apply. Additionally, the presence of items such as guns, knives, and other weapons can lead to felony charges as well.
Can You Go to Jail for Assault in Jefferson County?
The potential consequences of an assault charge in Golden are wide-ranging. Assault in the third degree (C.R.S. 18-3-204) is punishable by 6 – 24 months in county jail, as well as up to $5,000 in fines. 2nd Degree Assault (C.R.S. 18-3-203) is a felony that carries possible ramifications of 2 – 16 years in prison and also fines of up to $500,000 with the presence of a deadly weapon or serious bodily injury. In the most serious situations, first degree assault (C.R.S. 18-3-202) penalties may include 10 – 32 years in prison and up to $750,000 in fines. Other factors can also amplify an assault charge such as domestic violence. If the victim of an assault is someone the defendant has had an intimate relationship with at any point, an additional DV charge and protection order can result.
Should I Get a Defense Attorney for an Assault Charge?
Absolutely. Colorado's assault laws are complex and consequences can amplify rather quickly. It is especially imperative that those facing an assault accusation exercise caution and their right to remain silent. Don't talk to police about your situation. Their isn't a requirement to provide statements and talking with law enforcement won't help you. Police officers often pretend to be your friend as a ploy to get information. Instead of talking to them, talk to us. Contact our office for a free consultation with an expert Jefferson County assault lawyer who will carefully analyze your unique situation and suggest next steps.
If you or someone you know is facing an assault accusation, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Pixabay