Adams County stalking charges can result if someone makes a threat followed by repeated behavior. These behaviors causing fear of safety or emotional distress in an alleged victim often lead to police involvement. Stalking is an extraordinary risk felony throughout Colorado, carrying possible time in prison, parole, and substantial fines. In some cases, stalking charges include a violation of a protection order or are charged alongside a domestic violence enhancement. With a lot on the line, seeking an experienced stalking attorney is crucial for those facing allegations in Adams County. Below we discuss this crime in further detail and outline next steps for those navigating charges.
Adams County Stalking Law
Adams County's stalking law prohibits making threats and taking repeated actions against another person, their intimate partner, or their immediate family members. CRS 18-3-602 defines the specific prohibited behaviors of stalking in the state of Colorado. You commit stalking in Thornton, Northglenn, or Commerce City if you:
- knowingly make a credible threat against another person,
- AND repeatedly approach, contact, communicate, or follow that person, their significant other, or their immediate family member
There are several different ways a credible threat can be made from things like an email or text to in-person gestures, words, or actions.
Additionally, there is a way stalking can be charged when no threats occur. If a person repeatedly follows, approaches, contacts, places under surveillance, or communicates with another person in a way that is likely to cause serious emotional distress, stalking charges can follow. If an alleged victim makes a claim of suffering this distress, there is no requirement to prove professional treatment or counseling.
Is Stalking Always a Felony in Colorado?
Stalking is at minimum a class 5 felony throughout Colorado. For a first offense that isn't violating a protecting order or terms of parole or probation, defendants face:
- up to 5 years in DOC,
- 2 years of parole,
- a minimum fine of $1,000
However, the following factors increase the offense to a class 4 felony:
- a second or subsequent stalking offense within 7 years,
- a violation of a protection order,
- or a condition of a defendant's probation or parole
These specifics can elevate the punishments to as many as 10 years in prison and fines in the six-figure range.
Stalking Defense Attorney in Adams County, CO
Just because you've been charged with stalking in Colorado doesn't mean you're guilty. It isn't uncommon for a misunderstanding to occur or intentions to be misinterpreted. Our skilled criminal lawyers have decades of combined experience successfully representing clients charged with stalking. Perhaps you never threatened anyone, there was only one instance of contact, or no one suffered serious emotional distress. Nevertheless, contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. An experienced attorney will look over your case and recommend next steps in building your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, competitive fees, and flexible payment plans for those charged with crimes throughout Colorado.
If you or someone you know is being accused of stalking, be smart. Contact the determined criminal defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Don't talk to the police - talk to us.
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment