Fraud by Check, C.R.S. 18-5-205, is a charge not limited to simply forging a check in Denver, Colorado. Typically, writing a check that you do not have the funds to cover will also be considered a crime. Further, attempting to open a checking account using false information with the intent to issue bad checks will get you in trouble with the Denver Police Department. Many people have been charged with Fraud by Check in Denver. This charge faces serious consequences which is why you need an experienced criminal lawyer in Denver from Sawyer Legal Group.
What is the Definition of Fraud by Check in Denver County?
Colorado Law defines Fraud by Check as any person, knowing he or she has insufficient funds with the drawee, who, with intent to defraud, issues a check for the payment of services, wages, salary, commissions, labor, rent, money, property, or other thing of value. That's a great legal definition, but what does it mean? Essentially, if a person writes a check in payment for services knowing they don't have enough money in the bank, they have committed Fraud by Check. Regardless, the legal aspects of this crime can be subject to interpretation. So, if you are facing charges, it is always best to speak with a criminal defense attorney immediately.
What are examples of Check Fraud in Denver, CO?
Examples of Fraud by Check range from simple purchases to complex situations. Those difficult areas of the law can involve prior convictions and have serious consequences. Let's say a mother of two shows up at swim class and realizes she hasn't paid for this month's classes. She proceeds to write a check for $250.00. However, she knows there aren't sufficient funds in the account to cover the amount. When the business has issues depositing or cashing the check, complaints will be made to the Denver Police Department. Unlike Theft, check fraud must involve a checking account.
What are the Consequences for Fraud by Check in Jefferson County, Colorado?
The punishment for Fraud by Check in Jefferson County ranges from a class 2 misdemeanor all the way to a class 6 felony. If the value of the check is less than $500, you are looking at a class 2 misdemeanor. A check written for $500 – $999 results in a class 1 misdemeanor. However, should the check total $1000 or more, or the individual has two previous convictions of Check Fraud or a similar crime, the punishment is a class 6 felony. If a fraudulent check is written from a nonexistent account or an account that has been closed for 30 days or more, the punishment is a class 6 felony as well. No matter if you are charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, an attorney who practices criminal defense law will be able to provide you the best outcome.
Check Fraud Attorneys Here to Help You
If you've been charged with Fraud by Check it is essential that you not give any information to the police in Denver. The highly rated lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group are ready to defend you in your Fraud by Check case. Don't let a mistake ruin your life. So, call us today at 303-830-0880 and have Denver's top lawyers representing you. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Shutterstock
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment