We all know that road work being done in one's neighborhood can be inconvenient and annoying, with the loud drilling, irritating beeping, and the added hassle of roads being closed. Last month in El Paso County, a man was exceptionally angered by the road work being done next to his property, so much so that he threatened the workers with a rifle. According to the article, the man came outside and “confronted them armed with a chrome-colored assault-style rifle”, pointed it at the workers and “threatened to shoot.” He fired three rounds into the ground before returning to his property and proceeded to fire the gun again, multiple times. His charges include “felony menacing, prohibited use of a weapon and reckless endangerment” (KKTV 11).
What is Prohibited Use of a Weapon in Jefferson County?
This criminal offense involves people using dangerous weapons in a way that creates a safety hazard for others, and doesn't require that someone is injured for charges to be made. Anytime that you aim a firearm at another person in Jefferson County, or anywhere in Colorado, you can be charged with Prohibited Use of a Weapon. Other ways in which you can be charged include recklessly (or with criminal negligence) discharging a firearm or shooting a bow and arrow, or have a gun in your possession after you have been drinking alcohol or taking drugs. The law (C.R.S. 18-12-106) includes leaving a loaded gun or a trap unattended (by a competent person immediately present), or even aiming, swinging, or throwing nunchaku or throwing stars at someone.
For more information and a complete definition, see our Prohibited Use of Weapons page.
In the case of the man in El Paso County, he could have been charged with Prohibited Use of a Weapon for both pointing the rifle at the road workers and for discharging the firearm into the ground. His menacing charges arise from the fact that he put the workers in fear of serious bodily injury from a deadly weapon (a class 5 felony), and reckless endangerment as a result of creating a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to the workers (a class 3 misdemeanor).
Adams County Penalty for Prohibited Use of a Weapon
If you are convicted of the Prohibited Use of a Weapon in Adams County, a class 2 misdemeanor, the penalty can include anywhere from 3 to 12 months in jail, a fine between $250 and $1,000, and a term of mandatory parole.
Lawyer for Prohibited Used of a Weapon Charge in Denver, Colorado
If you used a firearm while drinking and are facing charges for Prohibited Use of a Weapon in Denver, Colorado, our lawyers are here to help. Contact the law office of O'Malley and Sawyer today at 303-830-0880 to set up a free initial consultation or to schedule a jail visit. Together, we can protect your future.GET HELP NOW