Marijuana possession has been a newsworthy topic for quite some time now throughout Colorado. Dating back to 2012, the state legalized use of marijuana for those over the age of 21 and several medicinal situations. Recently, a bill was introduced that would reduce the felony charge (as well as other drug offenses) for possessing more than 12 ounces of marijuana. However, there are still regulations around marijuana that can result in criminal charges for growers, distributors, and users alike. Consulting a marijuana possession lawyer can prove to be invaluable when facing questions from police or a formal charge.
Marijuana Offenses in Aurora, CO | Marijuana Possession Lawyer
C.R.S. 18-18-406 describes the conduct of marijuana offenses in Colorado. Typically, these crimes result from possession of more marijuana than is legal or unlawful sale / distribution. When someone possesses, transfers, or transports more marijuana than is legally permitted, criminal charges can result. The range for these offenses is a petty offense to a felony. Charges depend on whether the marijuana was for personal use, for sale, the specific amount, and the type. Unauthorized sale is always unlawful and can come with steep penalties. Situations where larger quantities were distributed or the sale was to minors can result in the harshest consequences.
Penalties for Marijuana Crimes in Aurora, CO
The regulations currently in place for marijuana in Colorado cover amount, sale, transfer, and dispensing. On the lower end, possessing more than 1 ounce but less than 2 ounces can result in up to a $100 fine. Misdemeanors apply to possession ranging from 2 – 12 ounces and can result in 3 – 18 months in county jail, as well as fines up to $5,000. As mentioned earlier, HB 19 – 1263 would address the class 6 felony that applies to more than 12 ounces of marijuana, which can result in time in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to a six-figure fine. Regarding illegal sale, transfer, and dispensing, penalties similarly range from a fine for very small amounts (under 2 ounces) all the way up to a class 3 felony for more than five pounds distributed to a minor.
Drug Offense Attorney in Aurora, CO | Marijuana Possession Lawyer
When someone violates Colorado's marijuana laws, consulting an experienced drug offense attorney is critical to their future. The laws surrounding marijuana use and distribution are complex, ever-changing, and can be difficult to navigate. Perhaps you or someone you know made an honest mistake and is now facing charges. Maybe they were simply unaware certain restrictions apply. Nevertheless, our expert defense attorneys are here to help. Contact our office for a free consultation where we will carefully analyze the details of your unique situation and recommend next steps. Rest assured, your best possible outcome will remain our top priority.
If you or someone you know is facing charges involving marijuana, be smart. Contact the expert defense lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Yash Lucid