Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Marijuana Lawyer in Denver: Teen Found with Beer and Marijuana in Truck

Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Marijuana Lawyer in Denver: Teen Found with Beer and Marijuana in Truck

Posted by Terry O'Malley | Mar 27, 2017 | 0 Comments

With as popular as alcoholic beverages and marijuana are across the United States, it is no wonder so many young people have them in their possession. However, possessing or consuming alcohol or marijuana in Colorado can warrant important criminal charges. According to one recent news story, a 19-year-old teen was traveling for a spring break trip when he was arrested after being found with beer and marijuana in his truck. Apparently, the 19-year-old was found with seven 30-pack cases of beer and marijuana in his truck after being pulled over on suspicion of driving recklessly. In Denver, the 19-year-old would likely be facing charges of Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person, or Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Marijuana, C.R.S. 18-13-122.

Facing MIP charges?

Get Help Now!

Illegal Possession or Consumption of Alcohol or Marijuana in Jefferson County – Illegal Possession of Marijuana Paraphernalia by an Underage Person

In Jefferson County, individuals under the age of twenty-one can face criminal charges for possessing or consuming alcohol or marijuana, or for possessing marijuana paraphernalia.  Since the teen was found with both marijuana and alcohol at 19 years of age, he would likely face charges of Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Marijuana. Below is the MIP definition, listed under C.R.S. 18-13-122:

“(3) (a) Except as described by section 18-1-711 and subsection (6) of this section, a person under twenty-one years of age who possesses or consumes ethyl alcohol anywhere in the state of Colorado commits illegal possession or consumption of ethyl alcohol by an underage person. Illegal possession or consumption of ethyl alcohol by an underage person is a strict liability offense.

(b) Except as described by section 14 of article XVIII of the Colorado constitution and section 18-18-406.3, a person under twenty-one years of age who possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or consumes marijuana anywhere in the state of Colorado commits illegal possession or consumption of marijuana by an underage person. Illegal possession or consumption of marijuana by an underage person is a strict liability offense.

(c) Except as described by section 14 of article XVIII of the Colorado constitution and section 18-18-406.3, a person under twenty-one years of age who possesses marijuana paraphernalia anywhere in the state of Colorado and knows or reasonably should know that the drug paraphernalia could be used in circumstances in violation of the laws of this state, commits illegal possession of marijuana paraphernalia by an underage person. Illegal possession of marijuana paraphernalia by an underage person is a strict liability offense.”

Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Marijuana in Arapahoe and Adams County: A Minor is Under the Age of 21

While you are seen as an adult in every other area of your life as an 18-year-old, 19-year-old or 20-year-old, you are seen as a minor under the MIP law in Arapahoe and Adams County. Our criminal defense lawyers recognize the conflict in this for many young adults across Colorado. However frustrating this may be, it is always wise to refrain from possessing or consuming alcohol or marijuana, or possessing marijuana paraphernalia if you are an adult between 18 years of age and 21 years of age.  The consequences of an MIP conviction can severely hinder you as a young person.

Lawyer in Douglas County for MIP Charges: Call the O'Malley Law Office Today

While an initial conviction of Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Marijuana (MIP) in Douglas County may not be that serious, a second or third conviction can mean higher fines, a required completion of a substance abuse education program, required completion of community service, as well as a substance abuse assessment and treatment.  Our criminal defense attorneys understand that alcohol is widely accepted among society and that it is not uncommon for young adults to want to try alcohol. However, as a young adult it is always best to wait to possess or consume alcohol or marijuana until you are 21. If you are a young adult facing MIP charges in Douglas County or any other area of Colorado, act quickly and consult an experienced criminal defense lawyer from the O'Malley Law Office to defend you today.

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one has been charged with Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Marijuana in Colorado, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, contact a criminal defense attorney at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation

Image Credit: Pixabay – Clker-Free-Vector-Images, FreeDigitalPhotos.net – khumthong

About the Author

Terry O'Malley

Get Help Now! Request a Free Consultation Meet Criminal Defense Attorney Terry O'Malley If you have been charged with a crime, you are probably dealing with strong emotions about your upcoming court appearance. You are struggling with knowing how to choose a trustworthy lawyer to represent you...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu