Intentionally stealing someone's property is a misdemeanor in Thornton, Brighton, and Commerce City when the value is under $2k. An item's worth makes quite a difference when it comes to consequences of theft in Colorado. While times are tough for many, resorting to taking another's property can lead to damaging penalties. Consulting a misdemeanor theft attorney capable of fighting to have your charges reduced or dropped is essential. Below we discuss theft in Adams County and its especially impactful ramifications in greater detail.
Adams County Theft Laws
Adams County's theft laws prohibit stealing items that belong to someone else. C.R.S. 18-4-401 addresses the specific violations of theft in the state of Colorado. You commit this offense in Thornton or Brighton if you:
- take something pretending to borrow it with no intention of return,
- use deception to obtain another's property,
- refuse to pay a loan back within 72 hours of agreed return
It is important to note that taking property that you jointly own with another can also be theft if you do so without permission. Pick-pocketing or stealing from those who are elderly or disabled is a felony offense, even when the value of the items is below $2,000.
Theft Penalties in Adams County
Each theft case is different. Therefore, the penalties are as well. Cases of stealing someone's property valued at $50 – $1,999 is a misdemeanor offense. Possible consequences for conviction can include:
- probation to 18 months in county jail,
- fines of up to $5,000,
- and restitution
Taking a simple glance around your living room or kitchen, it is easy to see how theft values add up quickly. Even the items physically on your person are becoming more and more pricey. A smartphone, airpods, and jewelry all add up to quite a lot of money and can be stolen in the blink of an eye.
Experienced Misdemeanor Theft Attorney
A strategic approach to representation in a theft case is essential when it comes to the outcome. Our skilled attorneys fight to show that the items shouldn't be valued new if they've been used. If applicable, we can point out that you were the sole owner of the property or you didn't knowingly steal anything. We invite you to contact our office today if you're facing theft charges in Adams County. We offer a free consultation, same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing theft accusations throughout Colorado.
So, if you've been charged with theft, be smart. Contact the highly rated defense lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Mnz
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment