Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Criminal Defense Blog

Misdemeanor Theft in Boulder County | CRS 18-4-401

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Dec 03, 2020 | 0 Comments

Misdemeanor Theft
Misdemeanor Theft

Acts of stealing items or another's property valued under $2,000 are considered misdemeanor theft in Boulder, Longmont, and Broomfield. While shoplifting is the most common example of misdemeanor theft, taking something from a friend or family member with no intention of returning it or by deception can also apply. Taking items or property you own with another person without their permission can even lead to criminal charges. If you or someone you know is being accused of theft in Boulder, Larimer, or Weld County, consult an experienced theft lawyer as soon as you can. Below we discuss misdemeanor theft in greater detail and how we can help those navigating charges.

Boulder County Theft

Boulder County's theft laws prohibit taking items, property, or money from others. CRS 18-4-401 is the criminal code that defines theft throughout Colorado. You commit misdemeanor theft in Boulder, Longmont, or Westminster if you:

  • intentionally steal another's property worth $50 - $1,999,
  • by shoplifting, 
  • borrowing it but not intending to return it,
  • or through deception

Taking a loan and intentionally not paying it back within 3 days of the agreement qualifies as theft as well. There are many ways to commit theft, some more obvious than others. Even when times are tough, stealing goods, electronics, or money can lead to even worse consequences.

How Serious is Misdemeanor Theft in Colorado?

Each theft case is unique. Stealing property worth $50 - $1,999 can be a class 3, class 2, or class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction can lead to:

  • probation or up to 18 months in county jail,
  • fines of $50 - $5,000,
  • and victim restitution

Judges often look at a defendant's prior criminal history when handing down a sentence for misdemeanor theft. It is important to note that acts of pick-pocketing or stealing from someone with a disability or who is 70+ is a felony, even within the misdemeanor theft range.

Lawyer for Theft Charges in Boulder County

Whether you're being accused of theft in Longmont, Broomfield, or Boulder, you need experienced representation. Contacting a skilled defense attorney early on has many benefits and often leads to a better outcome. Perhaps you own the property in question, you didn't knowingly take anything, or values are being exaggerated. Nevertheless, don't talk to law enforcement. Contact our office first for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully analyze your theft case and recommend next steps. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make hiring a strategic lawyer possible, even in uncertain times.

Don't talk to the police about theft charges - talk to us.

O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC 303-830-0880 

Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu