Motor vehicle theft occurs in Jefferson County, Colorado when someone takes another person's car, truck, or motorcycle without authorization. Serious criminal charges can also result when a carjacking involves threat or deception. Earlier this week, a Colorado man was taken into custody after hijacking an RTD bus and threatening the driver with a weapon. Situations like these require consulting an experienced motor vehicle theft attorney.
What is Considered Theft of a Vehicle in Colorado?
C.R.S. 18-4-409 describes the conduct of aggravated motor vehicle theft in Colorado. This crime is charged as either first-degree or second-degree aggravated motor vehicle theft. Someone commits aggravated motor vehicle theft in the second degree in Lakewood if they:
- knowingly obtain or take control of a motor vehicle,
- without authorization from the owner,
- or by threat or deception
The offense becomes first-degree aggravated motor vehicle theft if any of the following occurs as well:
- possessing the vehicle for 24+ hours,
- attempting to or altering the appearance of the vehicle,
- removing or changing the VIN,
- using the vehicle to commit another crime,
- causing $500+ of damage to the vehicle or other property,
- causing bodily injury to another,
- taking the vehicle out of Colorado for 12+ hours,
- attaching license plates that don't belong to the vehicle
Known in some states as grand theft auto, the two key elements to this offense are the actor knowing the vehicle belongs to someone else and operating it without that person's permission.
How Many Years Do You Get for Stealing a Car in Jeffco?
Aggravated motor vehicle theft is a felony offense in Colorado unless the vehicle's value is less than $1,000. A misdemeanor applies in this scenario with up to 18 months in county jail and a fine of up to $5,000 as potential consequences. Ramifications of second degree aggravated motor vehicle theft where the vehicle is worth more than $1,000 can include:
- up to 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- fines as much as $100,000
The potential penalties for first-degree aggravated motor vehicle theft in Colorado can be as much as:
- 12 years in prison,
- $750,000 in fines
Additionally, conviction of motor vehicle theft will result in a revoked driver's license.
Jefferson County Motor Vehicle Theft Attorney
Just because someone is facing accusations or charges of aggravated motor vehicle theft in Colorado doesn't mean they're guilty. Specific facts and evidence exist in these cases that requires careful analysis from Jefferson County's best criminal defense attorneys. Perhaps you thought you had permission to operate the vehicle or you took the car for less than 24 hours. Nevertheless, contact our office for a FREE consultation where we will thoroughly analyze your unique situation and suggest next steps. Your best possible outcome is our priority and our results speak for themselves.
If you or someone you know is facing aggravated motor vehicle theft charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the skilled defense lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pixabay – ArtisticOperations