According to the news, a teenage gang member was found with a loaded handgun in his waistband. Police were called to an apartment complex, where a 16-year-old was found pointing a gun at the apartment. The gun was a loaded 9mm handgun / revolver and had its serial number removed. In Denver, Douglas County and across Colorado, the 16-year-old would be charged with Possessions of Handguns by Juveniles, C.R.S. 18-12-108.5.
Facing charges for illegal gun possession?Get Help Now!
Douglas County Lawyer for Possession of Handguns by Juveniles
In Douglas, Jefferson County and across Colorado, Possession of Handguns by Juveniles is charged whenever a teen under the age of 18 knowingly possesses a handgun / pistol. The 16-year-old in the news story was under the age of eighteen and Possession of Handguns by Juveniles can be charged as a misdemeanor and felony in Colorado.was in possession of a pistol, handgun or revolver, which means he would likely be charged with this harsh offense. Upon an initial conviction of Possession of Handguns by Juveniles in Jefferson County and anywhere else in Colorado, it is a class 2 misdemeanor. However, it becomes a class 5 felony for a second or subsequent offense.Your child needs an aggressive lawyer if they have been charged with illegally possessing a gun.
When Can Juveniles Legally Possess a Firearm in Colorado?
In Aurora, Arapahoe County and across Colorado, a juvenile / teen under age 18 can legally possess a revolver / handgun / firearm / pistol if:
1.They're attending a hunter's safety course or a firearms safety course;
2.They're at a shooting range or another area where they can legally shoot a pistol;
3.They're in a shooting competition or are in a performance where firearms can legally be used;
4.They're hunting or trapping legally;
5.They're travelling with a handgun or pistol that's unloaded to a hunter's or firearms safety course, to a shooting range, when going hunting, or to a performance / competition;
6.The juvenile has the firearm or gun on their parents property and the parents know about it;
7.The juvenile is using the firearm or revolver for self-defense purposes.
Charged with Possession of Handguns by Juveniles in Adams County, Colorado? Call Us
Your child needs an aggressive defender in court
If your child or juvenile has been charged or accused of illegally possessing a firearm or handgun when they are under the age of eighteen in Adams County or anywhere else in Colorado, consult a juvenile criminal defense lawyer immediately. Your juvenile could risk serving time in a juvenile detention center or even the Colorado Department of Corrections under more severe circumstances. Contact our firearm defense lawyers today and protect your child's future.
Get Help Now
If your child has been charged with juvenile possession of a handgun in Colorado, be smart, exercise your child's right to remain silent, and contact the best juvenile criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your child's future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – VintageSnipsAndClips
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment