Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Blog

Denver Possession of a Weapon by a Previous Offender Attorney | Woman Brags About Getting Away, Then Gets Caught

Posted by Terry O'Malley | May 22, 2018 | 0 Comments

Possessing or having physical control of a firearm when you have a felony conviction is charged as Possession of Weapons by Previous Offenders. A woman was recently charged with that crime after taunting police officers on their Facebook page. According to the report, the woman was a passenger in a car that got puller over and the police initially had no reason to detain her. However, after she left the scene, the car was searched and her handbag was found containing a pistol and some drugs. She went on Facebook to brag about ‘getting away.' Officers were able to catch her and charge her for the drug possession and Possession of a Weapon by a Previous Offender.

Douglas County Possession of Weapons by Previous Offenders Lawyer: Definition of Possession of Weapon by a Felon in Arapahoe County

The Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado law definition of Possession of Weapons by Previous Offenders – C.R.S. 18-12-108 – is:

“A person commits the crime of possession of a weapon by a previous offender if the person knowingly possesses, uses, or carries upon his or her person a firearm as described in section 18-1-901 (3)(h) or any other weapon that is subject to the provisions of this article subsequent to the person's conviction for a felony, or subsequent to the person's conviction for attempt or conspiracy to commit a felony, under Colorado or any other state's law or under federal law.”

Because the pistol was found in the handbag that contained the woman's ID and other possessions that tied the gun to her, she is facing this crime.

Sentence for Possession of a Weapon by a Previous Offender in Jefferson and Adams County

As a class 6 felony in Adams and Jefferson County, Possession of a Firearm by a Previous Offender is punishable by 12 to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $100,000 in fines. It can be aggravated to a class 5 felony or a class 4 felony if certain circumstances apply.

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one has been charged with Possession of a Weapon of a Previous Offender, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 to schedule a free consultation. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation

Image Source: Pixabay-Alexas_Fotos

About the Author

Terry O'Malley

Get Help Now! Request a Free Consultation Meet Criminal Defense Attorney Terry O'Malley If you have been charged with a crime, you are probably dealing with strong emotions about your upcoming court appearance. You are struggling with knowing how to choose a trustworthy lawyer to represent you...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu