It's not uncommon for Denver and Longmont Police to charge as many crimes as they can stemming from a single incident. That seems to be the case with the investigation surrounding a string of grass fires along a popular Longmont trail. A man was arrested and charged with seven counts of Second Degree Arson. Apparently, the fires were all deemed separate incidents, occurring within a 45-minute window. There was no report on how the man arrested was connected to the fires or any motive for starting them, but he is currently in the Boulder County Jail on a $50,000 bond.
Facing Arson charges?Get Help Now!
Boulder County 2nd Degree Arson Attorney: What is the Adams County Definition of Second Degree Arson?
The Boulder County and Adams County, Colorado law definition of Second Degree Arson – C.R.S. 18-4-103 – is:
“A person who knowingly sets fire to, burns, causes to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damages or destroys, or causes to be damaged or destroyed, any property of another without his consent, other than a building or occupied structure, commits second degree arson.”
The difference between First Degree Arson and Second Degree Arson is the type of property that is damaged or set on fire. 1st Degree Arson involves burning a building or occupied structure. 2nd Degree Arson covers any type of property that is not a building.
Jefferson County Sentence for Second Degree Arson Charges: Punishment for an Arapahoe County Arson Crime Like Grass Fires?
We all know that the damage fire causes can be catastrophic. That's why Second Degree Arson is punished so harshly – a class 4 felony. Now, there is a class 2 misdemeanor charge for Second Degree Arson if the damage resulting from the fire is less than one hundred dollars, but rarely does a fire cause that minimal level of damage. In Jefferson, Douglas, and Arapahoe County, the class 4 felony Second Degree Arson is punishable by 2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $500,000 in fines. Because the man received so many counts of the 2nd Degree Arson charge, there is a possibility that he can be sentenced on each count separately. If the judge chooses to run the sentences consecutively, then he could be doing a maximum of 42 years in DOC.
Get Help Now
If you or someone you love has been charged with Second Degree Arson, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-stevepb
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment