Sexual assault on a child charges in Jefferson County, Colorado can result from many different situations involving adults and those in their early teens. This law prohibits sexual contact between a young person under the age of 15 and anyone 4 or more years older. Earlier this month, local police were working to identify a child sex assault suspect who allegedly assaulted a child. Accusations or charges of sexual contact with a child are particularly serious and require immediate help from an experienced sexual assault on a child lawyer.
Child Sex Assault Charges in Lakewood
Charges of sexually assaulting a child in Lakewood, Littleton, or Arvada aren't uncommon in our digitally connected age. Young adults and young teens have much more access to one another through electronic communication on their various devices. These interactions can lead to meetups and inappropriate relationships that are unlawful in Colorado.
C.R.S. 18-3-405 defines the violations of Colorado's sexual assault on a child law. A person commits this sex crime if they:
- have sexual contact,
- with a child under 15,
- AND are 4 or more years older
It is important to note that this applies to an actor sexually touching a child, as well as the child touching the actor. Groping or fondling a young teen's breasts, butt, or genital area for sexual gratification can lead to impactful criminal charges.
Sexual Assault on a Child Penalties in Colorado
Child sex assault is a class 4 felony throughout the state of Colorado. This means conviction can lead to:
- 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- and / or fines of up to $500,000,
- sex offender registration,
- offense-specific evaluations / treatment,
- sex offender intensive supervised probation
However, if there is the use of threats or force to achieve the sexual contact, a class 3 felony applies. Additionally, in situations where the sexual contacted is repeated (for example inappropriate, ongoing relationships), a pattern of sexual abuse applies. These additional factors increase ramifications to 4 – 12 years in prison, as well as between $3,000 – $750,000 in fines.
Jefferson County Sexual Assault on a Child Lawyer
The complexity of sexual assault on a child charges shouldn't be understated. Often these cases include a child's word against the accused. Fortunately, the skilled criminal defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC have decades of experience representing clients facing sexual assault accusations throughout Colorado. It is imperative that you take the following steps if facing a sexual assault accusation:
- exercise your right to remain silent,
- don't talk to police or investigators about your case,
- refrain from discussing your situation on social media or by text,
- contact our office for a free initial consultation
If you or someone you know is facing sexual assault on a child charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pixabay – sweetlouise
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment