If at first you don't succeed (at speeding) try again? That seemed to be the motto for one young woman, who was caught speeding more than once. According to the news, the 21-year-old woman was caught speeding three separate times, all within one hour. The first time she was allegedly traveling 93 miles per hour, 23 miles above the speed limit. The second time (about 40 minutes later) the same police officer saw her going 97 miles per hour. She was cited both times for Reckless Driving. I guess the first citations she received weren't enough of a warning for her, because she was spotted a third time going 94 miles per hour. In Denver, Yuma County and everywhere else in Colorado, she would be charged with Speeding, C.R.S. 42-4-1101.
Received a speeding ticket?Get Help Now!
Speed Limits in Douglas County and Across Colorado
In Douglas County, Adams County and everywhere else in Colorado, it is unlawful for a person to drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions then existing. Since the young woman was driving above the speed limits on three separate occasions, it would be considered Speeding in Colorado.
Speeding Consequences in Arapahoe County, Colorado: Points Will Be Added to Your License RecordSpeed Limit Points Added to Your License 1-4 miles per hour over the speed limit 0 points 5-9 miles per hour over the speed limit 1 point 10-19 miles per hour above the speed limit 4 points 20-39 miles per hour over the speed limit 6 points 40 miles per hour or more over reasonable speed limit or 75 mph speed limit 12 points
Reckless Driving Charges Can Accompany Speeding Charges in Colorado
In Jefferson County, Boulder and everywhere else in Colorado, men and women can also be charged with Reckless Driving, C.R.S. 42-4-1401, if they're caught speeding. Reckless Driving occurs whenever a person drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, or low-power scooter in a way that indicates either a wanton or willful disregard for the safety or people or property. Not only is Reckless Driving a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, but it can also result in up to 8 points on your driver's license.
Charged with Speeding in Colorado? Contact the Criminal Defense Lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office
Being charged with Speeding can result in dramatic consequences for your everyday life. If you accumulate 12 points, your driver's license could be suspended or revoked. This could affect your driving liberties – such as your ability to commute to work, pick up your kids from school, or complete everyday tasks. Reckless Driving and other traffic offenses in Colorado can also result in the accumulation of points on your driver's license. Don't wait if facing any accusations of Speeding or any other traffic offense. Call the best criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office to protect your future today.
Get Help Now
If you've been ticketed for speeding in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and contact the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – qimono
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment