Sometimes, we resort to speeding when we have important places to get to. For one man, a time crunch led to speeding. He was pulled over for going 85 mph in a 70 mph speeding zone. When speaking with the police officer, he told him he was driving his daughter to her Special Olympics practice. The father had also just lost a family member. The officer must have felt compassion towards the father when he gave him a warning instead of a ticket. Though there are many situations similar to this one, not everyone is as lucky when it comes to speeding in Douglas or Arapahoe County. Unfortunately, police are rarely understanding. An experienced criminal defense lawyer is essential if you've received any speeding tickets in Colorado. Let's take a closer look at what the law states about Speeding in Colorado.
Have you gotten a speeding ticket in Denver?Get Help Now!
What is Speeding in Colorado?
Speeding, C.R.S. 42-4-1101, occurs when someone drives a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the existing conditions. Many people in Jefferson County are pulled over and given tickets because officers are trying to reach ticket quotas. In some cases, police pull people over for speeding to check if they've been drinking. This, of course, can lead to a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) or DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) charge. Like the man in this news story, we hear of many cases where people were speeding due to time constraints or struggles in their personal lives. Unfortunately, these are not always enough to let people off the hook when facing a speeding ticket. You need to consult an expert criminal defense lawyer if you've been given any speeding tickets in Colorado.
Consequences of Speeding in Adams County
Don't wait until a speeding ticket has negatively impacted your daily life. Call an attorney today.If stopped by police in Colorado for going 10 to 19 miles over the speed limit, 4 points could be taken off of your driver's license. Going 20 to 39 miles above the speed limit could result in 6 points off of your license, while going 40 miles per hour above the speed limit could result in 12 points. 12 points off of your license in a certain time frame can lead to license suspension or even revocation. This is a frustrating and inconvenient outcome for anyone. Because the ability to drive impacts so much of your life, don't wait to involve a knowledgeable defense lawyer in your case. Contact our office today.
Facing Speeding Tickets in Denver? Contact Us Today
There are police officers in Denver and across Colorado who may let you off with a warning if you've been speeding. At the same time, there are also officers who are quick to write you a ticket. If you've been given any speeding tickets in Colorado, contact the criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office right away. Don't wait until a ticket has negatively impacted your daily life. Our attorneys are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to talk with you. Give us a call today.
Get Help Now
If you've been given a speeding ticket in Denver, Aurora or Englewood, Colorado, exercise your right to remain silent and contact the best Denver speeding ticket lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – HebiFot
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment