Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Texting While Driving in Denver and Arapahoe County: Careless Driving Charges Also Possible

Texting While Driving in Denver and Arapahoe County: Careless Driving Charges Also Possible

Posted by Terry O'Malley | May 26, 2018 | 0 Comments

There is a new penalty for texting while driving, affecting drivers in Denver, Arapahoe County and across Colorado. Governor Hickenlooper signed a bill which will increase the fines and points added to your driver's license upon being found texting while driving. Before, a person could receive a $50 fine and 1 point added to their license for texting while driving. With the new bill, a person can receive a $300 fine and will have 4 points added to their driver's license. Police will only pull a person over for texting while driving if they notice a person driving carelessly. This can lead to added charges of Careless Driving.

Careless Driving Definition in Douglas County and Jefferson County: What is Careless Driving?

The definition of Careless Driving, C.R.S. 42-4-1402, in Douglas County and Jefferson County is:

“A person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, or low-power scooter in a careless and imprudent manner, without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances, is guilty of careless driving. A person convicted of careless driving of a bicycle or electrical assisted bicycle shall not be subject to the provisions of section 42-2-127.”

What is the Penalty for Careless Driving in Adams County?

In Adams County, Careless Driving is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense or class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense. Normally, Careless Driving is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, punishable by up to 90 days in the Adams County Jail. However, if you are arrested for Careless Driving resulting in bodily injury or death to another, it is a class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense, which is punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail.

Get Help Now

If you are facing charges of Careless Driving or texting while driving in Colorado, contact a criminal defense lawyer or traffic attorney from the O'Malley Law Office to help you. Call us at 303-830-0880 to set up a free initial consultation. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation

Image Credit: Pixabay – reynaldodallin

About the Author

Terry O'Malley

Get Help Now! Request a Free Consultation Meet Criminal Defense Attorney Terry O'Malley If you have been charged with a crime, you are probably dealing with strong emotions about your upcoming court appearance. You are struggling with knowing how to choose a trustworthy lawyer to represent you...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu