Tips are always fun to get as a waiter or waitress. For one waiter, he certainly got a larger than expected “tip”. According to the news, a waiter allegedly stole a $3,000 diamond ring that had fallen off a customer's finger. Detectives posing as a couple met with the waiter and the waiter offered to sell it to them for $2,000. Police later confirmed the ring matched a woman's description of it. In Denver and Douglas County, the waiter would face charges of Theft, C.R.S. 18-4-401. Of course, this raises an interesting question. Are you obligated to return something which you find?
Facing Theft charges?Get Help Now!
Theft Lawyer Definition of Theft and Types of Theft in Arapahoe and Adams County
The definition of Theft in Arapahoe and Adams County includes many types of criminal offenses involving the act of obtaining, retaining, or exercising control over something of value without authorization and intending to permanently deprive another person of the use or value of the property. Theft can include:
- Burglary, C.R.S. 18-4-202
- Identity Theft, C.R.S. 18-5-902
- Shoplifting Theft
- Check Fraud, C.R.S. 18-5-205
- Robbery, C.R.S. 18-4-301
- Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft, C.R.S. 18-4-409
Since the man allegedly took an item belonging to another person with the intent to deprive the person permanently of its use or benefit, he would likely face Theft charges.
What is the Sentence for Theft in Jefferson County?
Depending on the value of the item stolen in Jefferson County, Theft can be a petty offense, misdemeanor, or felony. Theft charges can result in anywhere between 6 months in the Jefferson County Jail to up to 24 years in prison.Value of Thing Involved Petty Offense, Misdemeanor, Felony Theft Less than $50 Class 1 Petty Offense Theft $50 or more but less than $300 Class 3 Misdemeanor Theft $300 or more but less than $750 Class 2 Misdemeanor Theft $750 or more but less than $2,000 Class 1 Misdemeanor Theft $1,000 or more but less than $5,000 Class 6 Felony Theft $5,000 or more but less than $20,000 Class 5 Felony Theft $20,000 or more but less than $100,000 Class 4 Felony Theft $100,000 or more but less than $1,000,000 Class 3 Felony Theft $1,000,000 or more Class 2 Felony Theft
If you have been charged with Theft in Colorado, be sure to involve a criminal defense lawyer early on. In many cases, an experienced lawyer can prevent charges from ever being filed by talking with the police or alleged victim early on in the case. In the case above, we don't have an obligation to return something we find, but trying to sell an item you know is not yours can cause serious problems. While there are too many unknown facts to know for sure, even this case may be defensible. Contact a Theft lawyer from the O'Malley Law Office if you are facing charges of Theft and protect your future.
Get Help Now
If you face charges of Theft in Colorado, be smart, remain silent, and contact a Theft lawyer at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net – Boykung
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment