Taking something without permission with the intention of never giving it back is charged as Theft in Denver, Aurora, and Castle Rock. A man was called out for stealing a cart full of the energy drink Red Bull as he was seen yawning on his way out of the store. The police issued a statement with the surveillance photo stating that stealing must be exhausting and that must be the reason why he needed $250 worth of the energy drink. If caught, the man would be facing the Shoplifting Theft charge.
Douglas County Theft Lawyer: Definition of Theft in Arapahoe County
The Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado law definition of Theft – C.R.S. 18-4-401(1)(a) – is:
“(1) A person commits theft when he or she knowingly obtains, retains, or exercises control over anything of value of another without authorization or by threat or deception; or receives, loans money by pawn or pledge on, or disposes of anything of value or belonging to another that he or she knows or believes to have been stolen, and:
(a) Intends to deprive the other person permanently of the use or benefit of the thing of value”
Because the man took the item without paying, he would be facing the criminal charge of Theft.
Sentence for Red Bull Theft in Adams and Jefferson County
In Jefferson and Adams County, Colorado, Theft is charged as a petty offense, misdemeanor, or felony depending on the value of the items taken:
- A class 1 petty offense if the value of the thing involved is less than $50;
- A class 3 misdemeanor if the value of the thing involved is $50 or more but less than $300;
- A class 2 misdemeanor if the value of the thing involved is $300 or more but less than $750;
- A class 1 misdemeanor if the value of the thing involved is $750 or more but less than $2,000;
- A class 6 felony if the value of the thing involved is $2,000 or more but less than $5,000;
- A class 5 felony if the value of the thing involved is $5,000 or more but less than $20,000;
- A class 4 felony if the value of the thing involved is $20,000 or more but less than $100,000;
- A class 3 felony if the value of the thing involved is $100,000 or more but less than $1,000,000
- A class 2 felony if the value of the thing involved is $1,000,000 or more.
Get Help Now
If you have been charged with Theft, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880. Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-Alexas_Fotos
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment