Third-degree assault in Lakewood, Colorado usually involves non-serious injuries. When someone wrongfully hurts another and that injury isn't serious, 3rd degree assault charges can result. Negligently injuring someone with a deadly weapon is also considered assault in the third degree in Colorado. If you're facing allegations of hurting another person resulting in non-serious injury, contacting a third-degree assault attorney is essential.
Jefferson County's Third-Degree Assault Law
Jefferson county's third-degree assault law prohibits someone from causing bodily injury to another. C.R.S. 18-3-204 addresses these violations. You commit 3rd degree assault in Lakewood, Arvada, or Golden when you:
- knowingly or recklessly cause bodily injury to someone,
- OR with criminal negligence cause bodily injury to someone by using a deadly weapon
Fights that end with cuts, bruises, or scratches are examples of third-degree assault. A key element in this type of assault charge is that the victim experienced some type of pain. Without this, harassment may more accurately apply.
Will I Go to Jail for 3rd Degree Assault in Arvada?
Assault in the third-degree is a class 1 misdemeanor throughout Jefferson County. Conviction can result in:
- up to 18 months in county jail,
- fines of up to $1,000
The heightened jail sentence is a result of third-degree assault also being an extraordinary risk crime in the state of Colorado. Additionally, if an allegation of assault occurs between current or former romantic partners, a domestic violence sentence enhancer can result. Mandatory arrest and immediate protection orders often complicate these matters even more.
Jefferson County Third-Degree Assault Attorney
Being accused of assault in Jefferson County doesn't mean you're guilty. You have the right to fight these charges, explain your side of the situation, and protect your rights and freedoms. The best way to do so is alongside a strategic criminal lawyer. Perhaps your assault case involves a lack of intent, false accusations, or you were acting in self-defense. Either way, contact our office to speak with an especially skilled defense attorney today. We offer affordable fees, as well as flexible payment plans for those facing assault charges throughout Colorado.
Don't talk to police about assault charges - talk to us. 303-830-0880
Photo by Zacke Feller on Unsplash
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment