After the remains of a burnt human body was found in Golden, Colorado, three men in Jefferson County are facing a multitude of charges. While none of the men face all of the exact same charges, the crimes include second-degree arson, first-degree murder, tampering with a deceased human body, tampering with physical evidence, possession of a weapon by a previous offender, and aggravated intimidation of a witness (KKTV 11). Any of these crimes are serious offenses, and warrant the need for an experienced criminal defense lawyer who has a strong understanding of Colorado's laws. As not much more information is given about the crime, except to say that the body was also shot, let's take a look at what it takes to be charged with some of these offenses:
What is Second Degree Arson in Adams County?
In Adams County, you can face charges of Second Degree Arson (C.R.S. 18-4-103) if you knowingly burn any property without the owner's consent (not including a building or occupied structure). If you set fire to a building or occupied structure, the charges will become First Degree Arson.
What is the Penalty for Second Degree Arson in Douglas County?
The penalty for Second Degree Arson will depend on the value of the damaged property. If the damage is less than $100, the crime will be considered a class 2 misdemeanor, and if the damage is over $100, it will be charged as a class 4 felony. In Douglas County and throughout Colorado, the penalty for a class 4 felony ranges from 2-6 years in prison and a fine between $2,000 to $5,000.
Tampering With a Deceased Human Body in Arapahoe County
If you set fire to someone who has been killed in Arapahoe County, you will be charged with C.R.S. 18-8-610.5 (Tampering with a Deceased Human Body). You can also be charged with this class 3 felony if you willfully destroy, mutilate, conceal, remove, or alter any part of a human body in an attempt to make them unidentifiable or so that they cannot be found in an official proceeding/investigation. In order for a crime to be accurately solved, police and detectives need the scene of the crime to remain untouched, which is why Tampering with a Deceased Human Body and Tampering Physical Evidence (a class 6 felony) are charged so harshly.
Denver Criminal Defense Attorney for Arson and Tampering with a Deceased Human Body
If you are facing charges for Arson, Tampering with a Deceased Human Body, or any other crime in Denver, Colorado, it is of vital importance that you have an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side. Charges like this will impact your future, resulting in high fines, a lengthy prison sentence, and a criminal record that will follow you throughout the rest of your life. Be smart and exercise your right to remain silent if contacted by police. Call our Denver attorneys today at 303-830-0880. Together, We can protect your future.GET HELP NOW
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment