While Sexual Assault, C.R.S. 18-3-402, can be charged as a felony in Denver and across Colorado, it can also be charged as a misdemeanor in some cases too. Let's continue reading about misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Colorado and what constitutes Sexual Assault.
Facing Sexual Assault charges?Get Help Now!
Misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Adams County: Charged Even if Relationship is Consensual
Sexual assault becomes a misdemeanor in Adams County and Glendale, Colorado whenever a child 15 or 16 years old has a sexual relationship with someone 10 years older than them. Even if the child has given consent to the sexual relationship, the adult will still be at fault. If someone at least 10 years older than a 15 or 16-year-old child has a sexual relationship with the child, it's a class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime. A class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime is subject to up to 24 months in the Adams County jail. However, if an older adult has a sexual relationship with a child under the age of eighteen and the adult is in a position of trust, it becomes Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust. This is a felony sexual offense and is subject to indeterminate sentencing in Colorado.
Romeo and Juliet Laws in Arapahoe County, Colorado and Consensual Sexual Relationships
Under some circumstances in Aurora, Arapahoe County and across Colorado, Colorado's Romeo and Juliet laws allow children to consent to sexual relationships. According to the Romeo and Juliet laws, if a child is 16 A child can consent to sexual relationships under certain circumstances. years old, they can consent to a sexual relationship with a person not more than 10 years older than them. Additionally, a child under the age of 15 can consent to a sexual relationship with someone who's not more than 4 years older than them. You should always consult an experienced sexual assault lawyer if you are unsure about the specifics surrounding Colorado's legal ages of sexual consent.
Attorney in Douglas County for Misdemeanor Sexual Assault
Hire the top sexual assault lawyers in Colorado to defend your case
If you've been charged with misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Douglas, Jefferson County or any other county in Colorado, call our sexual assault lawyers today. A conviction of misdemeanor Sexual Assault can be daunting. You should always speak with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney if facing any accusations or charges. An experienced sexual crimes attorney can fight for a better outcome in your criminal case.
Get Help Now
If you have been charged with misdemeanor Sexual Assault anywhere in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at 303-830-0880, or submit the “Get Help Now” form. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – zstupar