Last week, The Daily Sentinel published an article about a couple who were unsatisfied with the work of a construction crew. After a lengthy construction process of a roundabout in their neighborhood, the couple decided to check out the work more closely – they were not happy with what they found. With their own engineering experience and an idea of what sidewalks and curbing should and should not look like, the woman decided to return on her own to take pictures of the “crooked, jagged concrete”. The site manager was not happy about this, as evidence of his poor job would be sent to CDOT, and after a heated confrontation he called the police, demanding that the lady be charged with Trespassing.
Definition of Third Degree Trespassing in Denver, Colorado
The story above is an example of how someone can attempt to charge you with Trespassing, without you intending to Trespass, or even actually Trespassing. According to the lady, she was taking the photos from a neutral location, but because she and the manager were alone at the time, it would only be her word against the site manager's. Being angry, he could claim she trespassed before or after she took the photos, should they be shown to have been taken from a neutral location. In Denver, Colorado, Trespassing has 3 different classifications: First degree, Second degree, and Third degree criminal trespass. Third degree criminal trespass, the least severe of the three, is charged when a person “unlawfully enters or remains in or upon premises of another” (C.R.S. 18-4-504). While this is only a Class 1 Petty Offense, it is still not a conviction you want to have on your record.
Penalty for Third Degree Criminal Trespass in Arapahoe County
If you are charged with Third Degree Criminal Trespass in Arapahoe County, a conviction could mean a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail, and/or a $500 fine. There is no minimum possible penalty. Also, it is possible that rather than being sentenced to time spent in the Arapahoe County Detention Center, you could be sentenced to probation instead.
Adams County Lawyer for Trespassing Charges
If you or a loved one are facing charges of Trespassing in Adams County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, or anywhere in Colorado, contact our experienced criminal defense lawyers today at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment