Unlawful sexual contact charges in Fort Collins, Colorado can result when unwanted touching occurs. This groping and fondling must include intimate parts to be considered a crime. Whether a defendant was drunk and got too touchy or thought a date was going somewhere it wasn't, detrimental consequences can follow including jail time, strict supervision, and sex offender registration. It is important to note that unlawful sexual contact doesn't include acts of intercourse. When a situation lacking consent reaches that level, sexual assault applies. Anyone facing an unlawful sexual contact allegation in Larimer County should consult an experienced sex crimes attorney as soon as possible.
Larimer County Unlawful Sexual Contact Law
Larimer County's unlawful sexual contact law prohibits acts of touching intimate parts without consent. CRS 18-3-404 provides specific definitions of unlawful sexual contact throughout Colorado. You commit this sex offense in Fort Collins, Longmont, or Estes Park if you:
- knowingly touch another person's intimate parts without their consent,
- or knowingly cause someone to touch your intimate parts without their consent
Intimate parts refer to a person's breast(s), butt, or genital area. Physically touching these exposed parts or the clothing covering them for the purpose of arousal, gratification, or abuse is unlawful. Too often innocent people are charged with unlawful sexual contact because of misinterpreted intentions or mixed signals from another person.
What's the Sentence for Unlawful Sexual Contact in Colorado?
Unlawful sexual contact is at minimum a class 1 misdemeanor throughout Colorado. As an extraordinary risk crime, the possible period of incarceration is longer. A conviction in Larimer County can include:
- up to 24 months in county jail,
- fines of $500 - $5,000,
- sex offender registration
However, sexual contact becomes a felony if threats, intimidation, force, or drugs are used to get the victim to submit. This can mean up to 8 years in prison and elevated fines for conviction, as well as sex offender registration.
Fort Collins Sex Crimes Attorney
Just because you've been charged with a sex offense in Larimer County doesn't mean you're guilty. Securing capable representation is a crucial step in your defense to these serious charges. Perhaps the contact was an accident, there was consent, or allegations are motivated by regret or revenge. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. An experienced sex crimes attorney will thoroughly look over your case and recommend next steps in your defense. With competitive fees and flexible payment plans, a strategic attorney on your side is attainable.
If you or someone you know is being accused of unlawful sexual contact in Larimer County, be smart. Contact the determined criminal lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Don't talk to the police - talk to us.
Photo by Nik Shuliahin