In Denver, there are many circumstances where a person can be violating Colorado law while carrying a concealed weapon. For example, carrying a knife in your purse, or carrying a pistol or firearm in your coat pocket, can warrant criminal charges of Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon, C.R.S. 18-12-105. If you or a loved one is facing charges of Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Colorado, call the best firearms lawyers from the O'Malley Law Office right away.
Facing Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon charges?Get Help Now!
Definition of Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Adams and Arapahoe County
In Adams County, the definition of Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon, C.R.S. 18-12-105, is:
“A person commits a class 2 misdemeanor if such person knowingly and unlawfully:
- a) Carries a knife concealed on or about his or her person; or
- b) Carries a firearm concealed on or about his or her person; or
- c) Without legal authority, carries, brings, or has in such person's possession a firearm or any explosive, incendiary, or other dangerous device on the property of or within any building in which the chambers, galleries, or offices of the general assembly, or either house thereof, are located, or in which a legislative hearing or meeting is being or is to be conducted, or in which the official office of any member, officer, or employee of the general assembly is located.”
It should be noted that a “knife” under this definition includes a “dagger, dirk, knife, or stiletto with a blade over three and one-half inches in length, or any other dangerous instrument capable of inflicting cutting, stabbing, or tearing wounds, but does not include a hunting or fishing knife carried for sports use. The issue that a knife is a hunting or fishing knife must be raised as an affirmative defense.” Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon is a class 2 misdemeanor in Adams County and Arapahoe County. A class 2 misdemeanor is punishable by up to 12 months in the Adams County Jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
When Can I Legally Carry a Concealed Weapon in Douglas County?
There are a number of locations or situations where it is lawful to carry a concealed weapon in Douglas County. These locations and situations are listed below:
- Your own dwelling (house, townhome, apartment) or place of business or on property owned / under your control;
- In a private automobile or other form of transportation and you are carrying a weapon for lawful protection of yourself or property while traveling;
- When you have a valid permit to carry a concealed weapon;
- If you are a peace officer carrying a weapon in conformance with the policy of the employing agency;
- If you are carrying a concealed weapon as a probation officer or pretrial services officer on duty and serving in Colorado.
Jefferson County Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon Lawyer: Call Today
If you are facing charges or accusations of Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Jefferson County, never speak with police. It is always best to consult an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can talk with you about the details of your criminal case and mount a solid defense. When you hire one of our skilled criminal lawyers, you become our #1 priority. Call our office today to schedule a free initial consultation and protect your firearm rights and future.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Colorado, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, contact a criminal defense attorney at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation