If you really need to see someone, but don't have a car, what means of transportation would you resort to? Walking, taking the bus, having a friend / family member drive you where you need to go? Any of those options seem reasonable. For one woman, calling 911 seemed like a better idea. According to a news story, a 28-year-old woman called 911 reporting a medical emergency. After being transported to the hospital, she signed herself out immediately. Apparently, she only called 911 to use their ambulance service to bring her to her boyfriend's house. As a result of her actions, in Jefferson and Arapahoe County, she would be charged with False Reporting.
Facing charges of False Reporting?Get Help Now!
False Reporting in Adams County
The woman in this news story called an emergency line (911), saying she had a medical emergency, when that wasn't the case. She could be charged with False Reporting, C.R.S. 18-8-111, for making a report or knowingly causing the transmission of a report to law enforcement authorities of a crime or other incident within their official concern when she knew that it did not occur. False Reporting is a class 3 misdemeanor in Colorado. However, False Reporting is a class 2 misdemeanor if someone causes a false alarm of fire or other false emergency exit alarm to sound (C.R.S. 18-8-111(1)(a)(I)) and if false reporting to authorities is committed during the commission of another criminal offense. A class 3 misdemeanor could result in up to 6 months in the Adams County Jail, while a class 2 misdemeanor could result in up to 12 months in the Douglas County Jail.If you've been charged with False Reporting, contact an experienced lawyer to fight on your behalf.
Shouldn't I Remain Silent When Talking with Highlands Ranch Police?
You should exercise your right to remain silent when speaking with police, unless it involves giving them your identifying information.
In Highlands Ranch, Thornton and Boulder, you do have the right to remain silent when speaking with police. Staying silent is wise, especially because you can help police and the prosecution more by giving them information about a situation. However, there are times where you are required to give police identifying information when asked for it. Identifying information includes your name, address, birth date, social security number, or driver's license / Colorado identification number, C.R.S. 18-8-111(3). Beyond that, keeping your mouth closed will keep you out of jail.
Charged with False Reporting? Hire a Denver Criminal Defense Attorney
In Denver, Douglas County and across Colorado, being charged with False Reporting can have an impact on your daily life. Police involved crimes can also be dangerous since police work so closely with Denver District Attorneys and judges. If you've been charged with False Reporting or accused of False Reporting, call an experienced Denver criminal defense attorney immediately. The expertise of a defense lawyer will make all the difference in your criminal case.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one have been accused of False Reporting anywhere in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and contact the best criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – McLac2000
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment