Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Blog

Your Guide to DUI Charges in Jefferson County

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Jun 11, 2020 | 0 Comments

With summer weather upon us, more and more drivers are hitting the road. Whether you're heading to a campsite, going to a friend's house for a small get-together, or venturing out to a restaurant you haven't been to in a while, drinking and driving can be costly. Maybe you're avoiding rideshare due to the COVID-19 pandemic or you think you're fine to drive home after a few drinks. Either way, awareness as to how to navigate a DUI in Lakewood, Arvada, and Golden is essential. Consult an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible if you're facing DUI charges in Jefferson County.

Alcohol DUI and Drug DUI in Colorado

Driving under the influence in Colorado can involve alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two. Operating a vehicle after beer, wine, liquor, prescription drugs, or marijuana are in your system can lead to criminal charges. Two important numbers to understand in DUI charges refer to BAC (blood alcohol content) and THC (delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol) levels. DUI charges can result if a driver's levels are one of the following:

  • BAC of .08% or higher,
  • THC of 5 nanograms per milliliter or more (police can still arrest if lower)

In terms of your driver's license, police will usually take your license after the arrest and provide a temporary permit that expires in 7 days. This time frame is critical in trying to keep your driving privileges. Requesting a hearing within this time period with a skilled attorney by your side is crucial.

Jefferson County DUI Penalties

Each DUI case is different. As a result, consequences for conviction aren't always the same. Typically, a first DUI is a misdemeanor and can result in:

  • 2 years of probation,
  • up to 96 hrs of community service,
  • fines of $600 – $1k,
  • a revoked driver's license for 9 months,
  • alcohol / drug education program

Keep in mind, a high BAC (.15%+) or causing a car accident will result in much steeper consequences. While a second or third DUI is also a misdemeanor, the ramifications increase with each additional offense. Jail time, increased fines, and additional hours of community service often apply.

Best Attorney for DUI Charges

Finding an experienced DUI attorney who is genuinely concerned with your outcome is essential. Our defense lawyers have over 40 years of combined experience successfully navigating DUI charges in Colorado. Perhaps there were errors in the breath / blood testing procedures or there wasn't probable cause for a traffic stop. That said, contact our firm today for a free consultation. We will carefully look over your DUI case and craft a strategy focused on the best possible outcome for you and your family. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make skilled representation a reality in uncertain times.

If you or someone you know is facing DUI charges in Lakewood, Arvada, or Golden, be smart. Contact the determined attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by ELEVATE

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

Get Help Now! Request a Free Consultation Meet Criminal Defense Attorney Kyle B. Sawyer Each day the news is filled with reports of the government taking away the rights, freedoms, and liberties of its own citizens. Your rights deserve to be protected. The founding fathers fought and died for the...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu