Assault charges in Denver, Aurora, and Lakewood can result from causing bodily injury to another person. If the actions were done knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally, a wide range of criminal penalties are possible. Colorado's assault laws are complex and charges differ based on intent, presence of a deadly weapon, risk of injury, and who was assaulted. Accusations or charges of assaulting another person requires skilled representation from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
What is Considered Assault in Denver?
Assault charges in Colorado range from third degree to first degree depending on the severity of the situation. The following links provide greater detail on each specific assault charge:
- 3rd Degree Assault – C.R.S. 18-3-204
- 2nd Degree Assault – C.R.S. 18-3-203
- 1st Degree Assault – C.R.S. 18-3-202
Generally speaking, when actions like pushing, slapping, shoving, and hitting take place, misdemeanor charges apply. However, when altercations lead to scaring, broken / fractured bones, or broken teeth, felony charges can result due to these being serious injuries. Additionally, when a situation involves a weapon such as a gun or knife, felony charges can apply as well.
We often see the sentence enhancer domestic violence added to assault charges when the altercation occurs between those who've been romantically involved at one time or another. In Colorado, this means a mandatory arrest and especially restrictive protection orders.
Consequences of Assault Convictions in Colorado
The potential penalties for assault in Denver, Aurora, and Lakewood are particularly vast. While assault in the third degree is a class 1 misdemeanor, it is also an extraordinary risk crime, possibly resulting in:
- 6 – 24 months in county jail,
- up to $5,000 in fines
In situations where serious bodily injury occurs or deadly weapons are present, felony consequences can apply. Conviction can lead to:
- 2 – 32 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- fines of $2,000 – $750,000
Colorado's Assault Laws | Strategic Criminal Defense
A thorough understanding of Colorado's assaults laws and decades of experience defending assault cases are what the attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC bring to the table. We know the system and vigorously pursue the best possible outcome for each of our clients.
Perhaps you didn't intend to hurt anyone, you weren't behaving recklessly, or you were acting in self-defense. Nevertheless, contact Colorado's best assault attorneys for a free initial consultation. We will carefully go over your case with you and also suggest next steps to forming a strong defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans in order to make quality representation attainable.
If you or someone you know is facing assault charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the strategic criminal defense lawyers at O'Malley & Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – samer daboul