Forgery and Theft are often charged together in Jefferson and Adams County, and across Colorado. People may resort to unfortunate measures if they're struggling financially and become desperate. In one news story, a woman said she received new checks in the mail, but 100 of them were missing. After a period of time, police discovered 14 of those checks had been written to different stores without her permission. Forgery and Theft in Denver can carry serious consequences. It's in your best interest to contact a criminal defense lawyer if facing either of these criminal charges.
What is Forgery in Colorado?
The definition of Forgery, C.R.S. 18-5-102, involves someone's intent to defraud another person, the government or a business. Under C.R.S. 18-5-102(1)(c), a person commits forgery, if, with intent to defraud, such person falsely makes, completes, alters, or utters a written instrument which is or purports to be, or which is calculated to become or to represent if completed:“
A deed, will, codicil, contract, assignment, commercial instrument, promissory note, check, or other instrument which does or may evidence, create, transfer, terminate, or otherwise affect a legal right, interest, obligation, or status.”
Because the suspect in this news story allegedly wrote out 14 checks that weren't his own, he could face charges of Forgery in Arapahoe and Douglas County. And, because there were so many checks used in various stores, it's clear the suspect had intent to defraud. Forgery is a class 5 felony in Colorado, which could result in 1-3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections.
Facing Theft charges?Get Help Now!
Another Possible Charge: Theft in Denver
Since 100 checks were stolen from the woman in this news story, the suspect could also face charges of Theft, C.R.S. 18-4-401, for each check written. Cumulatively, the person writing these checks will face many years in the Denver County Jail or the Colorado Department of Corrections.
Denver Misdemeanor Theft ChargesClass Situation / Dollar Value Penalty Class 1 Petty Theft Offense If item value is less than $50 $500 fine and up to 6 months in the Jefferson County Jail Class 3 Misdemeanor Theft If item value is $50 to $299 Up to 6 months in the El Paso County Jail Class 2 Misdemeanor Theft If item value is $300 to $749 3-12 months in the Denver County Jail Class 1 Misdemeanor Theft If item value is $750 to $1,999 6-18 months in the Adams County Jail
Felony Theft in Adams CountyClass Situation / Dollar Value Penalty Class 6 Felony Theft If item value is $2,000 to $4,999 1-2 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections Class 5 Felony Theft If item value is $5,000 to $19,999 1-3 years in Prison Class 4 Felony Theft If item value is $20,000 to $99,999.99 2-6 years in DOC Class 3 Felony Theft If item value is $100,000 to $999,9999.99 4-12 years in DOC Class 2 Felony Theft If item value is $1,000,000 or more 8-24 years in DOC
Charged with Forgery or Theft Adams County? Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer
If facing charges of Forgery or Theft in Colorado, it's crucial that you do not speak with police. Too much is at stake. Anything you provide to the police will be used against you in court. Instead of speaking with police, contact an expert criminal defense attorney at the O'Malley Law Office in Denver. We work hard to defend our clients' rights and freedom.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with felony Forgery or misdemeanor Theft, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and consult the best criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – Gadini
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment