Free Consultations 303-830-0880

Criminal Defense Blog

Denver Theft Attorney

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Jan 05, 2024 | 0 Comments

Denver theft attorney

Theft occurs in Denver when someone obtains, keeps, or takes control of an item of value that doesn't belong to them. It is typically charged as either a misdemeanor or felony and consequences largely depend on the value of the item(s) involved.

This crime can also be charged in situations where a person receives something of value and proceeds to take out a loan against it. Other times charges can stem from someone disposing of something they know to be stolen. Consequently, representation from an experienced Denver theft attorney is crucial if you or someone you know is facing charges.

Is Theft a Misdemeanor or Felony in Denver?

While the action of theft is the same regardless of the monetary value of the item, the degree of the charge hinges on the sum of the items stolen. For example, if the value of the item is under $300 the offense is charged as a petty offense. If the total falls in the range of $300 to under $2,000, misdemeanor charges apply. When the value of the property or money stolen exceeds $2,000, felony charges result.

It's also important to note that there is a 6 month time frame which can impact the severity of the charge as well. If a person steals 2+ items or more than once from the same person within a 6 month time frame, the total value of the items stolen can be added together to amplify the charge.

How Long Do You Go to Jail for Theft in Denver?

Below is a brief snapshot of the range of charges associated with Theft in Colorado based on the value of the items involved:

  • under $300 = petty offense / up to 10 days in county jail
  • $300 – $999 = class 2 misdemeanor / up to 120 days in county jail
  • $1,000 – $1,999 = class 1 misdemeanor / up to 364 days in county jail
  • $2,000 – $4,999 = class 6 felony / up to 18 months in prison
  • $5,000 – $19,999 = class 5 felony / up to 3 years in prison
  • $20,000 – $99,999 = class 4 felony / up to 6 years in prison
  • $100,000 – $999,999 = class 3 felony / up to 12 years in prison
  • $1,000,000 and over = class 2 felony / up to 24 years in prison

Wide-ranging consequences exist for theft conviction in Colorado. Alongside substantial fines, months in county jail all the way up to over a decade in prison can apply. With your future on the line like this, contacting a skilled Denver theft attorney is especially essential.

Best Theft Lawyer in Denver

Whether your theft crime includes robbery, larceny, shoplifting, or motor vehicle theft, the defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group are prepared to vigorously pursue your best possible outcome.

Just because you've been accused of theft in Denver, doesn't mean you're guilty. Prosecutors may choose to file charges in situations where a misunderstanding has occurred. Consequently, it is critical that those facing a theft charge exercise their right to remain silent and not provide law enforcement with statements of any kind. Instead, contact an aggressive defense lawyer for a free consultation. 

We will carefully analyze your unique situation and outline next steps.

Don't talk to police about theft charges - talk to us. 303-830-0880

Photo Credit: Pexels – Pixabay

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the top criminal defense lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation