Acar is one of the greatest inventions in history, and is appreciated globally. However, as we all know, it's also not perfect. It sometimes doesn't work the way it's supposed to, causes an accident or breaks down completely. For one couple, their SUV not only broke down, but it was also stolen. The couple was unable to pay for a tow truck after their car broke down, so while out looking for help, someone ended up stealing their car. Thinking their car was gone forever, the couple was surprised when they were contacted by police saying their car had been identified. If this incident occurred in Jefferson or Adams County, the person who stole the car could likely face charges of Theft.
Theft in Denver and Across Colorado
The definition of Theft, C.R.S. 18-4-401, is:
“(1) A person commits theft when he or she knowingly obtains, retains, or exercises control over anything of value of another without authorization or by threat or deception; or receives, loans money by pawn or pledge on, or disposes of anything of value or belonging to another that he or she knows or believes to have been stolen, and:
(a) Intends to deprive the other person permanently of the use or benefit of the thing of value;
(b) Knowingly uses, conceals, or abandons the thing of value in such manner as to deprive the other person permanently of its use or benefit;
(c) Uses, conceals, or abandons the thing of value intending that such use, concealment, or abandonment will deprive the other person permanently of its use or benefit;
(d) Demands any consideration to which he or she is not legally entitled as a condition of restoring the thing of value to the other person; or
(e) Knowingly retains the thing of value more than seventy-two hours after the agreed-upon time of return in any lease or hire agreement.”
Whoever took the car could face charges of Theft in Colorado because he or she knowingly exercised control of the car without authorization. And, it's possible that he or she intended to keep the car without returning it to the owners, which would be considered Theft. Theft ranges from a class 1 petty offense to a class 2 felony, depending on the monetary value of an item stolen.
Facing Theft charges?Get Help Now!
Consequences of Theft in Arapahoe and Douglas County
Misdemeanor / Petty OffenseClass Monetary Value Sentence 1 Petty Offense If the value of an item is less than $50 Up to 6 months in the Douglas County Jail and up to $500 in fines 3 Misdemeanor If the value of the item is $50 or more but less than $300 Up to 6 months in the Arapahoe County Jail and up to $750 in fines 2 Misdemeanor If the value of the item is $300 or more but less than $750 3-12 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines 1 Misdemeanor If the value of the item is $750 or more but less than $2,000 6-18 months in the Denver County Jail and up to $5,000 in fines
FelonyClass Monetary Value Sentence 6 Felony If the value of an item is $2,000 or more but less than $5,000 1 year to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $100,000 in fines 5 Felony If the item value is $5,000 or more but less than $20,000
1-3 years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines4 Felony If the item value is $20,000 or more but less than $100,000
2-6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $500,000 in fines3 Felony If the item value is $100,000 or more but less than $1,000,000
4-12 years in prison and up to $750,000 in fines2 Felony If the value of the item is $1,000,000 or more
8-24 years in prison and up to $1,000,000 in fines
Why You Need the Best Theft Defense Lawyers in Denver
Theft is a serious crime that requires the best attorneys to stand by the accused or convicted. If convicted of this crime, someone could risk being able to buy a house or a weapon, or risk qualifying for financial aid. The attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office are good at what they do and are determined to help their clients as best as they can. Whether you've been falsely accused or need a strong defense in court, we want to represent you. We often get deferred judgments or acquittals from jury trials for our clients, and truly care about the outcome of each case. Contact our office today for a free initial consultation if facing charges of Theft in Pitkin or El Paso County.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with Theft, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – MarleneBitzer