Harassment can happen intentionally or unintentionally in Jefferson and Douglas County, and across Colorado. People get caught up in the moment, and let emotions overrule them. In many Harassment cases, accusations are made against someone because of heightened emotions. Yet, an accusation is enough to lead to criminal charges and a court case against you. As criminal defense lawyers in Denver, we recognize the trauma that comes along with accusations of Harassment. Rest assured— we fight hard on behalf of our clients to get a favorable outcome in each case. Read more to learn about Colorado law on Harassment. If you've been charged with Harassment in Denver or anywhere else in Colorado, contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC.
Facing Harassment charges?Get Help Now!
What is Harassment in Colorado?
The definition of Harassment in Colorado, C.R.S. 18-9-111, is:
“A person commits harassment if, with intent to harass, annoy, or alarm another person, he or she:
(a) Strikes, shoves, kicks, or otherwise touches a person or subjects him to physical contact; or (b) In a public place directs obscene language or makes an obscene gesture to or at another person; or (c) Follows a person in or about a public place; or (e) Initiates communication with a person, anonymously or otherwise, by telephone, telephone network, computer network, or computer system in a manner intended to harass or threaten bodily injury or property damage, or makes any comment, request, suggestion, or proposal by telephone, computer, computer network, or computer system that is obscene; or (f) Makes a telephone call or causes a telephone to ring repeatedly, whether or not a conversation ensues, with no purpose of legitimate conversation; or (g) Makes repeated communications at inconvenient hours that invade the privacy of another and interfere in the use and enjoyment of another's home or private residence or other private property; or (h) Repeatedly insults, taunts, challenges, or makes communications in offensively coarse language to another in a manner likely to provoke a violent or disorderly response.”
Harassment is often charged alongside Domestic Violence as a result of anger or betrayal. If convicted of Harassment in Colorado, people will face a class 3 misdemeanor charge. Harassment can also be charged as a class 1 misdemeanor if someone intended to intimidate or harass another person because of that person's actual or perceived race, color, religion, ancestry, or national origin. A class 3 misdemeanor could result in up to 6 months in the Douglas County Jail, while a class 1 misdemeanor could result in up to 18 months in the Jefferson County Jail.
How is Harassment in Denver and Across Colorado Charged?
Harassment charges are often filed after a false accusation is made.There are many times charges of Harassment in Denver, Arapahoe County and across Colorado are filed. Sometimes, former lovers are in the middle of a breakup and they continue to call or text their ex in an effort to make things work again. If the ex isn't interested, all he or she has to do is call the police and claim he or she is being harassed. In some cases, a breakup could be nasty enough for someone to make up a story completely. A person could claim he or she is being harassed out of bitterness or anger, claiming he or she couldn't sleep at night or go out in public without fearing running into the ex. Convictions of Harassment, however, require proof. A District Attorney would need some physical evidence that you were actually harassing someone. For instance, some evidence could be in the form of a voice or video recording, or a copy of a phone record.
Why You Need the Best Denver Harassment Defense Lawyers
In Colorado, no injury is required before making an accusation of Harassment, so a claim isn't hard to make. This leads to criminal charges quickly. Because it's easy to be charged with Harassment in Denver and Morgan County, it's vital you consult an expert criminal defense lawyer right away. The criminal defense attorneys at O'Malley & Sawyer will aggressively fight on your behalf to protect your future.
Get Help Now
A Harassment conviction can have a negative impact on you and your future. Be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call the best criminal defense lawyers today at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net – stockimages
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment