Usually when I hear of shoplifting stories, I hear about people taking valuable items like jewelry, purses, or electronics. Never diapers. But, that's exactly what one man decided to take when he was at a Walmart. According to the news, the man allegedly stole over $700 worth of diapers from Walmart. Apparently, he went into the Walmart and came out with carts of diapers he didn't pay for. He told police he sold diapers of various sizes to women for $20 a box. In addition to the diapers, the man apparently also stole men's undershirts, sneakers and hygiene products. In Denver and across Colorado, the man would likely face charges of shoplifting Theft, C.R.S. 18-4-401.
Facing Theft charges?Get Help Now!
Shoplifting Theft in Arapahoe County – How is Shoplifting Theft Charged in Colorado?
Shoplifting is a type of Theft in Arapahoe County and across Colorado. Shoplifting Theft occurs whenever someone knowingly obtains, retains or exercises control over anything of value of another without authorization or by threat or deception, or receives, loans money by pawn or pledge on, or disposes of anything of value or belonging to another that he or she knows or believes to have been stolen. With the thing of value, a person would have to:
- Intend to deprive the other person permanently of the use or benefit of the thing of value;
- Use, conceal or abandon the thing of value to deprive the other person permanently of its use or benefit;
- Use, conceal or abandon the thing of value intending that such use, concealment or abandonment will deprive the other person permanently of its use or benefit;
- Demand any consideration to which he or she is not legally entitled as a condition of restoring the thing of value to the other person; or
- Knowingly retain the thing of value more than seventy-two hours after the agreed-upon time of return in any lease or hire agreement.
Because the man allegedly stole diapers, undershirts, shoes and hygiene products from Walmart, it would be considered obtaining control over items of value without authorization. He also likely intended to deprive Walmart permanently of the use or benefit of the items stolen. Based on the dollar value of the items, the man could face various misdemeanor charges in Colorado.
Adams and Douglas County Misdemeanor and Felony Theft Charges
Below are the level of misdemeanor and felony Theft charges you can face based on the dollar value of an item stolen in Adams and Douglas County, Colorado:Class of Petty Offense, Misdemeanor, Felony Theft Value of the Item Stolen Class 1 Petty Offense Theft If the value of the thing stolen is less than $50 Class 3 Misdemeanor Theft If the value of the thing stolen is $50 or more but less than $300 Class 2 Misdemeanor Theft If the value of the thing stolen is $300 or more but less than $750 Class 1 Misdemeanor Theft If the value of the thing stolen is $750 or more but less than $2,000 Class 6 Felony Theft If the value of the thing stolen is $2,000 or more but less than $5,000 Class 5 Felony Theft If the value of the thing stolen is $5,000 or more but less than $20,000 Class 4 Felony Theft If the value of the thing stolen is $20,000 or more but less than $100,000 Class 3 Felony Theft If the value of the thing stolen is $100,000 or more but less than $1,000,000 Class 2 Felony Theft If the value of the thing stolen is $1,000,000 or more
Theft Attorney in Jefferson County: Call Today
Theft charges can escalate quickly in Jefferson County and across Colorado. For example, if a store employee becomes involved in the shoplifting, and a person takes an item from them by force, threat, or intimidation, that person can face class 5 felony charges, regardless of the value of the item taken. Additionally, if a person takes any item of value from any person by force, threats or intimidation while shoplifting, it can become class 4 felony Robbery, C.R.S. 18-4-301. These felony offenses can come with serious consequences in Colorado, which is why you need the expertise of an experienced Theft lawyer fighting by your side. If you are facing shoplifting Theft charges in Colorado, call the best criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office today and protect your future.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one faces Shoplifting or Theft charges in Colorado, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, contact the top criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – PublicDomainPictures
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment