According to the news, a woman conducting an eye exam allegedly stole from the patient getting the eye exam. According to police, the woman made the patient put her purse on a counter out of view and told the patient to close her eye for what seemed like an unusual length of time. The patient later noticed her jewelry was missing from her purse, including a diamond ring and several necklaces worth around $20,000. The woman conducting the eye exam allegedly pawned the woman's jewelry, according to a surveillance video and pawn shop records. In Denver, Elbert County and across Colorado, this woman would face charges of Theft, C.R.S.18-4-401 and False Information to a Pawn Broker, a felony.
Facing Theft charges?Get Help Now!
Attorney for Theft in Jefferson County, Colorado: Definition of Theft
A person commits theft in Jefferson County, Arapahoe County and across Colorado whenever they knowingly obtain, retain, or exercise control over anything of value of another without authorization, or by threat or deception, or receive, loan money by pawn or pledge on, or dispose of anything of value or belonging to another that they know or believe is stolen. Additionally, with the item of value, the person would have to intend to deprive the other person permanently of its use or benefit, knowingly use, conceal or abandon the thing of value to deprive the other person permanently of its use or benefit, demand any consideration which they're not legally entitled as a condition of restoring the thing of value to the other person, or retain the thing of value more than seventy-two hours after the agreed-upon time of return.If you're facing Theft charges, contact our criminal defense attorneys today.
Theft Douglas County Attorney: Misdemeanor Theft in Colorado
Below are the ways Theft can be charged as a petty offense or misdemeanor, as well as the consequences involved upon a conviction of misdemeanor or petty offense Theft in Castle Rock, Douglas County and across Colorado:Class of Petty Offense or Misdemeanor Value of Item Stolen Colorado Jail or Prison Sentence Length Class 1 Petty Offense Theft If item value is less than $50 Up to 6 months in the Adams County Jail Class 3 Misdemeanor Theft If item value is $50 or more but less than $300 Up to 6 months in the Douglas County Jail Class 2 Misdemeanor Theft If item value is $300 or more but less than $750 3-12 months in the Jefferson County Jail Class 1 Misdemeanor Theft If item value is $750 or more but less than $2,000 6-18 months in the Arapahoe County Jail
Felony Theft Arapahoe County Lawyer: What is Felony Theft in Colorado?
Below are the ways felony Theft can be charged based on the value of an item stolen, as well as the possible consequences upon a conviction of felony Theft in Glendale, Arapahoe County and across Colorado:Class of Felony Value of Item Stolen Colorado Department of Corrections Sentence Length Class 6 Felony Theft If item value is $2,000 or more but less than $5,000 1 year to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections Class 5 Felony Theft If item value is $5,000 or more but less than $20,000 1 year to 3 years in DOC Class 4 Felony Theft If item value is $20,000 or more but less than $100,000 2-6 years in DOC Class 3 Felony Theft If item value is $100,000 or more but less than $1,000,000 4-12 years in DOC Class 2 Felony Theft If item value is $1,000,000 or more 8-24 years in DOC
Since the woman from the news story allegedly stole around $20,000 worth of jewelry, she could face charges of class 4 felony Theft and spend up to 6 years in prison.
Denver DA's Often Add Thefts Together: Call an Attorney to Defend You
In Denver, Aurora, Highlands Ranch and across Colorado, district attorneys often add Thefts together to increase the charges against you. Generally, theft must be classified as “one scheme or course of conduct”. This means that items taken must have similarities to be viewed as related. Someone who commits Theft multiple times in a short time can risk having Thefts added together. And, they risk facing lengthier jail or prison sentences as a result. Because Thefts can be added together, many people are often overcharged by district attorneys. If this is the case for you, involve an experienced Theft lawyer immediately. A misdemeanor or felony conviction of Theft can drastically change your future. Finding a job, getting financial aid, buying a gun or finding a house will all be negatively impacted. Call a full-time criminal defense lawyer at the O'Malley Law Office who will fight to defend your rights and future.
Denver False Information to a Pawn Broker Lawyer, C.R.S. 12-56-104
The woman in this story also runs the risk of facing charges of the class 6 felony False Information to a Pawn Broker. It is a felony for anyone to knowingly give false information to a pawn broker. The law requires anyone pawning an item to swear and state that they are the lawful owner of the property being pawned. When an item is stolen, the thief will be providing false information when they swear on the required form that they own the item. This charge can turn a smaller dollar value pawn into a felony.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one faces charges of Theft or False Information to a Pawn Broker in Colorado, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, contact the best criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – ColiN00B
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment